ahmadmanga's Gaming's Daily #10: How I Learned English Because of Video Games

Weclome to my daily collection of #gaming posts, Today I talk about "Learning" It's funny how the reason I can write so good in English is because I was obsessed with Video games as a child.

CoverPicture.jpg

Salam (Peace)

Every gamer has a story of how a video game impacted their life... A fact I remembered while reading @naysayer's post mentioned below. I have many of these stories myself. But the most impact on my life with video games was: me learning English.

In Libya, when I was a child (late 90s early 2000s) there weren't releasing Video Games in Arabic (Only in the recent 5 years publishers added this language to their games)... So the video games we had were mostly in English or Japanese.

As a child, I could've done what others my age did... Play games not relying on words at all. And that was surprisingly fun too. But my Aunt was a doctor and she taught me some English words, so when I played with my brother I was like "Why not try to translate the games for us?"

I didn't learn English in a short time, I didn't even learn it seriously... But when I was stuck in a game. I take my Dictionary Book and spend up to few hours translating the words on the screen. (Yup Book. because at early 2000s we didn't have digital translators).

DictBook
(This is my latest one. I think father bought it in 2005, I still have it)

At first I did that with games that only use few words, Then I tried with RPGs (you have to talk with everyone), and I was really bad. But I thought I was really good translator. And eventually my English become good.

Video Games ARE the reason I'm here now.
And that's alone tells how they impacted my life.

I'll probably make a cleaner post about my childhood with English & Games one day.

Tell Me If You Want To Read It.


Around The #Gaming Tag

Below are some posts from the last 24 hours. They are posts I read from my feed and new section of #gaming.

XXXXXX.jpg

  • How Gaming Changes Life! by @naysayer. The Inspiration for this post! Includes many comments from tumbler users abut how their life changed with games, I liked Portal & Journey entries.

DMC5.jpg

Golden.jpg

Finally a honorable mention to
@zipporah's "Steemit – We Need To Talk." (Not Gaming, But Must Read)
@darth-azrael's "Animaniacs (SNES, Genesis, Game Boy)"
@annasalkhalis's "[Review] Citizens of Earth."



~ Hope you liked the post ~
I'll probably make more of the daily posts so tell me if you liked the style or if you think it needs changing.

Other Gaming Posts From @ahmadmanga

Playstation: My ChildhoodYesterday's post: SEGA ReviewPS2: My Teenage Years
Looking Forward To Your Comments

First image is from the game Spyro The Dragon, Second Image is my Dictionary Book. All other images are from their respective posts.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency