#RememberWhyYouStarted : Calligraphy Edition ✨

From the abundance of the heart, the hand writes

You might heard the same quote as stated above, well it is derived from one verse in the Bible From the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks - Matthew 12:34 . But because I am a Calligrapher, I put some twist on it. So allow me to take you back from the very beginning on why, how and who I am right now not just an Artist but also as a Human being, you can also check out my on going contest on How you started in Steemit here. So shall we?



Let's start on this gathering that shaped and reminded me how Important this craft to me. 

Pagtitipon: Isang pagtitipon ng mga Manunulat ng Kaligrapiya 🖋


I started my Calligraphy journey last 2015, specifically in Pointed pen Calligraphy. Back then, it was juat my churchmate whom I knew that can teach me this hobby. Yes way back 3 years ago, it was just a hobby. Who would have know that this hobby will turn out a craft right now and really take a huge part in my life. Aside from my churchmate, I discovered the Instagram Community, which had been my special virtual family. When people asked me when did I learned some tips and techniques whether in Pointed pen or Brush calligraphy they tend to raise their eyebrows because they cannot believe that I just watch videos and tutorials in Instagram and Periscope. Even I sometimes can't comprehend how did I learn but I guess hardwork, persistence and eagerness to learn had been my key. Plus, I am pretty sure that people will obtain such skills I have by having a superb International mentors huhu. 


So as I explore the Instagram Community, I came across #littlespiralnotebook hashtag held by Ate Icka @Ickagraphs and Ate Judy @iamjudyg.  It was a 7-days challenge that has a theme for each and every day. Aside from it helped me to practice, I was able to meet new people whom become my friends too! And last May 07, 2016 Ate Judy was able to visit Philippines to have a vacation and surprisingly she was at the Pagtitipon gathering.

I've been following Ate Judy's posts about Copperplate. And I must say that she is reallt good on it! And one thing we have in common is we are not friends with Majuscules. 😂 But this time in Pagtitipon she taught us the basic in Spencerian Script. How cool is that? I mean it's super cool!!! She is great both in Copperplate and Spencerian. I cannot believe that the one who I just follow in Instagram is finally in front of me, having a capsule class in spence. 

It was really a surprise to meet her in the event. Actually I wasn't able to talk or chat with her during the event because I was so awkward and shy. Plus, who would have know that she would remember a novice like me? She got tons of followers too! So it took me a minute to sink in when she called me by my name when the event ends. AAAAAAAAAAA I love her! She's been one my Inspiration, Mentor and friend. And I am very hopeful to see her again this November!


Aside from Ate Judy, there is another good soul whom I wanted you to meet. She might be the most passionate and humble Calligrapher I met in person, It's Doc Gail. It's been my very first time to meet Doc Gail in the event too, but even before she is known to not just as a good Artist but also a great mentor. Not to mention that she is the mentor of my virtual mentor in Pointed Pen, Ate Nina @anintran. 


Doc Gail shared some history background  in her talk. Some tips in copperplate and answer questions from some artists too. Honestly, Doc Gail is the perfect example of #PassionAboveAll and #RememberWhyYouStarted hashtag. Seeing her life reminds me why I started and stayed in this journey. It is not to brag about my works, or tell people that I'm in trend. But I am writing to Inspire. To share the good news and give glory ro our God whom given me this skills.Sounds old right? But it was really my main goal. My heart longs for Inspirations and Motivations. So all the more I wanted to write and do so. 

The very reason why I am here in steemit aswell. It is to write it out what's inside my heart. To share my knowledge on and help aspiring artists just like who my virtual mentors helped me before. And of course, let's not be hypocrite here. We're all here in the platform to earn some cents too. And I don't see any wrong there, as long as you respect each and everyone then it's all good right?


It was a great thing to discover things in the virtual world, but let us not forget to enjoy the physical things/people that are just around the corner. 

For the mean time please check out my on going contest of #RememberWhy here

Do your thing, enjoy life and live it to the fullest! And keep steeming everyone!

Thank you for reading!

-Dy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now