REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY – RAINDROP WATERCOLOURS

REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY

RAINDROP WATERCOLOURS

It poured rain, and by poured, I mean the skies unleashed a river of rain droplets. I watched this from my balcony while I checked the weather. As I looked around, I had this little nudge from inside to bring my camera out and take pictures. I felt a mild irritation at having to go to the trouble of doing it since I wasn’t in that frame of mind, so I ignored the nudge. A half an hour passes and I check the weather again. I had planned to go out for a walk that day, but there was no pause in the downpour. I get a second little nudge to go get the camera. This time I give in, since I know how this goes. I won’t get any peace until I listen.

Hanging over the balcony, twisting at angles, I shot these three photos. Quite frankly, my thoughts were that this would amount to nothing. After I took a good look, I was caught off guard. I had no idea what I really captured because I get into a flow when I’m creating. Thought comes into it later when I’m finished. These images reminded me of watercolour paintings. I’ve done watercolour paintings, but not for some time. The irony of seeing rain create watercolour paintings. Things like this always make me laugh.

These photos are reflections of the trees and buildings in very large water puddles in the parking area of where I live. All three were taken during a torrential rainstorm, so the images are distorted by the rain droplets.

An (anonymous) Hive friend said the following when they saw these photos, so I’m including my friend’s comment in this post. The comment drew my attention to seeing several different forms that can be visualized in the photos. I did not see this previously. Thank you.

“I like how it looks (to me) like an outcast creature looking at something in a disgusted way through the glass, unseen….”

RAINDROP WATERCOLOURS I

01_raindrop_watercolours.jpg

RAINDROP WATERCOLOURS II

02_raindrop_watercolours.jpg

RAINDROP WATERCOLOURS III

03_raindrop_watercolours.jpg

All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera and Tamron 90mm macro lens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency