Zombie Apocalypse in the Bathroom: A Peculiar Thought Experiment

Zombie Apocalypse in the Bathroom: A Peculiar Thought Experiment

Have you ever found yourself in a public restroom, minding your own business, when suddenly a bizarre thought crosses your mind? "What if a zombie outbreak happened right now, and I was trapped in here?" If you've had this oddly specific scenario play out in your head, rest assured - you're not alone as I always have them!

The Origin of of this Strange Contemplation, I think..

As a kid, I watched a zombie movie that left a lasting impression. The survivors were trapped in a bathroom, desperately holding out against the undead until dawn. But in a cruel twist of fate, they were mistakenly shot by anti-zombie troops upon emerging.

I think it was "the night of the Living Dead"?

Little did I know this scene would spark a lifelong habit of assessing restrooms for their zombie apocalypse survival potential.

The Restroom Survival Checklist

Now, whenever I enter a public restroom, a part of my brain automatically starts running through the "Zombie Apocalypse Survival Checklist":

  • Escape Routes: Are there any breakable walls leading to adjacent rooms?
  • Ventilation Options: Is there a vent system I could crawl through?
  • Structural Assessment: Is this just a cement cube with no hope for escape?
  • Weapons: Any weapons I can use?
  • Resource Evaluation: How long could I survive with the available "resources"?

A Common Quirk?

This peculiar thought experiment has me wondering: how many others share this oddly specific habit? Are there fellow restroom strategists out there, silently plotting their survival while washing their hands?

The Psychology Behind the Quirk

Perhaps this habit is more than just a random thought. It could be:

  • A way our brains prepare for unlikely scenarios
  • A manifestation of our innate survival instincts
  • Simply an overactive imagination fueled by pop culture

Conclusion: You're (Probably) Not Alone

If you've ever caught yourself planning a zombie escape route while in a public restroom, take comfort in knowing you're likely not the only one (* Heck I am admitting it now). It's a quirky, perhaps even endearing, habit that speaks to our human capacity for imagination and problem-solving - even in the most unexpected places.

So, the next time you find yourself evaluating a bathroom stall's zombie-proofing potential, remember: somewhere out there, someone else is doing the exact same thing.

#BrothersAndSistersInArms

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now