This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Awkward!

There was a strange new patron at the library, and the encounter was awkward all around. The meme here is relevant.

received_3300493710052488.jpeg
original source unknown

She smelled of stale cigarettes and cheap perfume from across the room. Her hair was obviously dyed red, but what drew even more attention was very prominent cleavage. It was displayed in a dress that can only be described as designed for that effect.

Not to body-shame, but I don't think I would have been the heavy one were we on a playground see-saw.

She also had what struck me as an affected breathy speech and ended every brief interaction with, "I appreciate you."

I can't say I appreciated having to help her. It's awkward as hell when one is trying to be professional, but Tits McCleavage there is dressed to get attention like that. On the one hand, we're told not to objectify women, not to stare at boobs, not to be lecherous oafs, etc.

That's fine. "Slut shaming" is certainly not OK, and "she was asking for it" isn't an excuse for molestation. We're not in disagreement on this topic, feminists.

But work with me, women. What you wear advertised your intentions, and clothing designed to draw the gaze will draw the gaze.

Note that I don't wear a muscle tee or a codpiece to draw attention to myself... at least not while on duty... heh... and menswear is not typically designed to explicitly advertise sex. I sense a double standard on top of the mixed messages. What gives?

I know women have a hard time buying modest clothing. My jeans are loose-fitting sturdy denim trousers. Women get blue spandex and butt sparkles. I buy flannel shirts I can just chuck in the wash. Women seem to be sold strange layers of diaphanous fabric that never fits over more than one shoulder and must be laundered with the tears of bunnies and distilled water or it disintegrates. Why do you put up with that? Did you know the library has books on sewing? I just want to point out that you can take charge and make your own garments to fit what you want instead of waiting for mega-corporations to mass-produce something decent. It's yime to promote the maker attitude versus crass consumerism. Want pockets? MAKE POCKETS!

I think this particular patron wanted to get a reaction from her fashion, though, if you know what I mean. And she has every right to dress however she wants in the end. But still, what the hell? And why? I try to be a decent human being, but sometimes I really wonder about other people and why they choose what they choose. I know we all have our struggles, be they financial, psychological, physiological, or otherwise. I try to give people the benefit of the doubt. But there are perplexing cases every now and then that just leave be perplexed.

Hopefully something coherent emerged from that mess of text. Am I a sexist pig, or is there something fundamentally wrong with the fashion industry? How does clothing communicate? Chime in with a comment below! As always, I will try to upvote those who actually engage with my midnight musings in the morning.