Ebb and Flow - Qurator Photo Quest Entry - Motion Blur

img_0.18281196559403926.jpg


Good evening Hiveworld and I hope all is well.

Here is a brief write-up of this shot, how it came to be and my entry to the Photo Quest Motion Blur Competition.


I was sat on my backside debating whether or not to go out on this particular evening. I'd decided I couldn't be bothered, when a chap came on The One Show called David Plummer. He was a wildlife photographer who had been diagnosed with Parkinsons disease. He wasn't sure how long he had left doing what he loved due to the degenerative nature of the disease and said he never procrastinates anymore.


This was all I needed to hear, so I packed up my camera gear and off I went. I hadn't bagged my 365 project shot for that day so it was the perfect opportunity to get something.


I had shot this feature of the reservoir years earlier but a lot wider and decided on this occasion, precariously balanced on the steep embankment, it would look far more interesting zoomed in at 50mm.


This is a spillway at the bottom end of Torside reservoir in the Peak District. It's sweeping curved lines are unlike anything I have ever seen before. When the water level reaches a certain height, over it goes. I fired off a few frames without the 10 stop filter first and once happy with the composition I screwed it on as I knew the water would look sublime during a long exposure.


The first LE shot I captured was mainly blue in colour, as there weren't any clouds in the sky reflecting off the surface. I liked what I saw on the back of the camera and noted some clouds were incoming and starting to catch some light from the setting sun.


Ten minutes passed, the clouds had moved into position above us and the sun was illuminating the under side of them a glorious golden colour. This was reflecting on the end of the spillway and I knew with a longer exposure the water above would turn to glass and catch the glorious colours.


It transpired that Mr David Plummer had got my lazy behind off the couch and out to capture one of my favourite images. I have returned since on numerous occasions but I have never again seen it overflowing.


I still suffer from bouts of laziness with the camera but his story always stayed with me as did this magical evening in the Peak District. I do hope Mr P is still fit and well enough to get out taking photographs.

Gear used...

Canon 650D

Samyang 50mm f1.4

XC Source 10 stop filter

Tripod

I can't remember the settings on the manual Samyang lens but it was a 1 minute exposure at iso 200.

This is a shot I have been approached about doing a write up by DIY Photography.net and will be featuring there soon. A sneak peek for the wonderful world of Hive.

Cheers for looking and all the best to the other participants.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency