Classic bait n Switch! 🎄 + Reddit v Hive Engagement Thoughts

If I didn't say it, somebody else would have!

bait n switch.gif

I came across the post while it was in the "Rising" section of my Reddit app ("Reddit is Fun") and the "bait n switch" phrase was one one of the first thing that came to mind.

It was already at least a few hours old and, to my surprise, nobody left the comment so I knew what I had to do.

Interestingly, some user accused my comment of being a repost on a repost which got me thinking. I mean, if you were a true karma whore, replicating top level comments on Reddit reposts would be a somewhat trivial thing to automate.

If you bother to check my history, I am NOT a karma whore as I will often knowingly sacrifice my fake internet points on the altar of conviction... To make a point or otherwise advocate for what I recognize as truth.

But I sure as shit won't miss an opportunity for a good quip!

I kind of liken it to obtaining karmic armor to then engage the hivemind hordes and face certain downvotes for daring to oppose platform consensus ideology. Well that sounds familiar 🤔

Here's the thing. Yes, at the end of the day it's fake internet points and those aren't going to pay the bills besides from the true karma whores selling clout accounts (which sadly is a thing) BUT there can be functional reasons you would not want to throw all your karma away to be a contrarian depending on the subreddit.

For example, some subreddits have a minimum karma for posting and / or commenting so obviously it would not behoove you to just willy nilly get your account blasted. Gotta know when to pick your battles if you want to maintain your freedom of expression on legacy social media.

Some may ask, why do I spend so much time on Reddit?

Truth be told, there is a much greater diversity of content on Reddit vs Hive and also it seems much more comment engagement. It's interesting considering they do not have a financial incentive to comment like we do but (take it w a grain - just my experience) I seem to garner more meaningful engagement over there anyways. 300+ upvotes on a simple but perhaps well timed quip? I highly doubt I would see that here.

Why is this?

I do partially blame the implementation of the convergent curve as it makes rewarding comments generally a less efficient use of one's voting power. Believe the rationale was it improved the communities ability to self-moderate and reduce spam which perhaps it did but I would argue it came with price of engagement. Maybe we could change that using a new op. Something like a symbolic vote which wouldn't require any VP use but still can be tabulated in the UI (for second layer incentives, maybe?)

On the flip side or positive for Hive, you generally don't have to worry about your message being stifled for ideological reasons here. That benefit cannot be understated. Especially for people like me ::cough:: ::cough:: conservatives!

Also,to be fair, the disparity of engagement on Hive vs Reddit may really be more attributed to the age of the respective platforms. Obviously, Hive is the new kid on the block so may just need more time for users to migrate that would be able to assist us in populating myriad content that would, not only be on par but exceed that of Reddit. Could be a matter of time but we could always expedite if we do things right.

What are we missing???

My Reddit is subscribed to 93 different subreddits and I have created at least one corresponding sub Hive community that is ShitpostCrusaders.

img_0.8491025484930846.jpg

It is a thriving community in Reddit and they do post some good memes. While back we ran a contest that @theycallmedan and @acidyo (who IIRC is running a community incubator initiative which relates) helped sponsor (via distributed post rewards). Maybe more stuff like this would be good to get people in the door. 👞🚪

(Note, I have not really had time / energy to nurture the SFR / HDR community much less the SPC. Full time job / Full time dad - yall know how it is!)

@anthonyadavisii/jojo-s-bizarre-adventure-shitpost-contest-showcase-steem-blockchain

Sidenote: I did run into an issue with character limit for "PoliticalCompassMemes" which was unfortunate and makes me curious as to why a 20 character limit was chosen. No matter as we can go with PCM or something I guess.

Point I am trying to make is... if we want to onboard people from Reddit, we need to work to replicate their communities and vibes... Without the bullshit, of course.

I mean we can continue doing what we do on hive but think there is potential in replicating Reddit communities if we want to onboard their users. Especially niche subs that the admins may ban in the future. I'm looking at you PCM 😉

Have you done any work to that end? Share it in the comments. Would love to hear it (P.S. I reward comments anyways!)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency