Mark Knopfler (Dire Straits) - 80s but Timeless Music (music and more inside)

Mark Knopfler - the English Guitarist who founded The Dire Straits with his brother David - in the 70s - a very successful band back in the days - has also a very reputable and successful solo career. Although I loved the Dire Straits, I loved the solo works of Mark even more. He started his solo career by making soundtracks, with the first ever "Local Hero" released in 1983. A year later, he produced his second solo album "Cal", also a soundtrack.

  • Artist: Mark Knopfler
  • Album: Cal
  • Style: Soundtrack / Celtic / Folk Rock
  • Year: 1984

It is this album I listened to so many times throughout the years, I will be shocked when I would know the exact number. I started listening to this from CD. I had multiple copies of this CD to have it available everywhere. It was the album I had on my first ever PDA, a windows based system, late 90s it must have been. It was one of the first albums I searched for on TIDAL and Spotify. I'm not sure what it is, but Cal is able to make me happy and de-stressed at the same time in - almost - an instant. The movie I did see as well, but to be honest, I dont know a lot about it anymore, but the music I will never ever forget and will likely continue listening to for the rest of my life.

Almost 70 years of age by now, Mark is still releasing albums and touring with it; Mostly in the genre rock with his last three albums "Privateering" 2013, "Tracker" 2015 and "Altamira" 2016.

A Must Listen for Celtic and Ambient Music Fans


Mark Knopfler - Cal (1984)

play complete album here

Tracks

Irish Boy
The Road
Waiting For Her
Irish Love
A Secret Place / Where Will You Go
Father And Son
Meeting Under The Trees
Potato Picking
In A Secret Place
Fear And Hatred
Love And Guilt
The Long Road

more Music

Spotify: click here
YouTube: click here
Soundcloud: click here
Mixcloud: click here

Discography

Discogs: click here

Gigs

Artist Website: click here

Website

Artist Website: click here


sources [1]
@qsounds


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency