Today's Garden Pickings!

IMG_1290.JPG

Toady's Daily Pick!

For the past two days, Saturday and Sunday, I have been away, at a Craft Fair. I haven't had a chance to get out to my garden in daylight, since Friday, during the rains. in fact, even today, it has been raining, steadily all day.

Of the daily harvest, from top is Green onion. (I am making a pot roast for dinner tonight, and I need the greens for seasoning.) Top left to right, Red Onion, two Banana Pepper. Oregon Giant Pea, Golden Sweet Pea, and Sugar Daddy Peas. Sweetie 100 Cherry Tomato. Later, I will grab some Romaine lettuce for our salad.

The rains let up enough that I was able to get outside, without getting drenched. Soggy, sure, but not drenched. Above you can see my vegetable picks for the day! it's working close to that amount each day! By the way, remember a couple of weeks ago? when I decided in the middle of the nasty heat that the peas were all dead, or done producing? I was wrong. Since then, when I almost pulled the plants from the garden, I've harvested about this much each day. As my oldest likes to say, "Quite The Snacky!"

Below The daily Raspberry harvest, too! I tend to grab about this many, perhaps a little more or less lately. Whatever is leftover from yesterday gets frozen. If I grab more than this amount, I freeze some as well. We just don't eat more than half a pint to a pint a day. Some cool day, this September, I will thaw them all and make raspberry Jelly. Sometimes, I make a batch of raspberry liqueur, too!

IMG_1288.JPG

I will cook some of my garden Red Bliss, and Blue Potato, as well as some celery, more red onion from garden, some sweet bell and the Purple Beauty Pepper, for our side dish, along with the oven roasted, Pot Roast and Garden Fresh Salad.

The Pot Roast is seared in an Olive Oil-coated cast iron pot, with a dredge of flour, fresh ground black pepper, sea salt, dried Thyme and Rosemary (from last year's garden)


DO NOT READ THIS PART @dreemsteem! I sprinkle garlic powder, and, after searing, I add some celery greens and celery, and a half chopped red onion. I stir in some tomato paste, a hearty red wine, and beef stock mix. After about 15 minutes on stove top on medium heat, I put the entire cast iron pot in the oven, on about 275F until unbelievably tender. Meanwhile, I add the chopped vegetables to another roast pan and cook them about 40 minutes before the roast is done.

This is an homage to my mom's Pot Roast!

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Midnight In the Garden of BLuefin and Elsa Minight In the Garden Of Bluefin And Elsa
Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise!
Dinner and More... Dinner, and More...
Potato Harvest One. Potato Harvest One
Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry!
Almost Ripe, Almost Tasty Amost Ripe, Almost Tasty!
I Grow, Therefore I Am I Grow, Therefore I Am
Lettuce Look! Lettuce Look At The Garden
Vegetable Garden Vegetable Garden Video Tour
Plants and Flowers VIDEO TOUR Plants and Flowers Video Tour
Quick Recap Grovid21 Quick Recap Grovid 21
Alive After A Week Away Alive After A Week Away
40 Days and 40 nights 40 Days and 40 Nights
Label My Garden Label My Garden Grovid
Garden Labels So FAR Labels Grovid 21
Tomatos Are OUTSIDE! Tomatos Are Grovid Ready
Going Outside Grovid 21 Going Outside
Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency