Sweet Carrot? A GroVid22 Experiment

Above: Harvest Carrot AFTER FROST???

I Heard Picking Carrot AFTER the first frost
gives you sweeter carrot.


A couple of months ago, I watched a video, that got me watching more and more, about Carrot harvesting. It seems, these gardeners were saying, if you let your carrot go until AFTER the first frost, BUT BEFORE the hard freeze, your carrot should be sweeter. Something about the cold, making the starches turn to sugars in the vegetable.

I love sweet carrots, so I was definitely going to test this... but, NOT willing to risk ALL my carrot. So, I left a third of one of my carrot grow bags, to see what would come of the SWEET Frosty CARROT experiment.

Above: Outside I head, to pick what is left of my Carrot Experiment.

We've had a few nights now, of some frosts, but no deep or hard freezes. Last couple of days have been mild, and yesterday was rainy. Today, at mid 50's (11 to 14ºF), I figured, it would be a good day to go ahead and pick the last of the 2022 Carrot.



Now, my normal carrot, Little Fingers Variety, is a nice, sweet (but small) carrot (very top image, on the cutting board, top right, roundish). The orange carrot were indeed sweeter, as were the Little Fingers, type.

There were too few Purple Carrot to judge, now were the yellow carrot big enough for a proper taste test. From what I could tell, all 4 of the variety I picked tasted sweeter, but not having a decent side by side comparison, it is difficult to know for sure.

I do know this, I use carrot all season long, so, I will plant them, and continue to harvest as I need for my daily cooking.

Growing my own fresh, healthy food locally, is better for the planet, better for my own family.



What's your favorite vegetable?


Let me know below in the comments...




Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid22 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png


postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency