Soggy, GroVid22 Mid September

Odd harvest, today!

At home, we are definitely on the downside of planting, gardening and harvests. a few cherry tomato plants, couple of San Marzano, and one or two large slicing type are still alive. That's a far cry from the 116 I planted March 15th. Last year's total harvest tallied up in November was around 350 pounds(about 160 kilos). looking at what's left alive, and the fruit on the vines, I doubt I'll come close. Maybe only 1/3.

This morning bowl of Raspberries is typical these days. I pick about this many, and freeze about the same amount each day. It's not bad and takes care of all the raspberries my family usually enjoys each day. ...but, again, maybe only half to one third of what I picked and froze last year. Perhaps, last year was a bumper crop with the massive rains every day of June... who knows?


The bad news is, I suspect that this is closer to the new norm than last year. I've been keeping a watch on typical temperature and rain fall, and watching averages climb for heat and drop for water each year. We're definitely looking at more heat waves and less rainfall in coming years. Climate Change deniers might want to wrap their heads around it.

Above: Little Gem Butterhead Lettuce
Below: Red Romaine Lettuce




Above: Sweet Banana Pepper, needs another few days to ripen
Below: I'll pick this one tomorrow, perhaps.



Above: Spaghetti Squash will probably never mature and ripen. The Vine is dead.
Below: Sunbright Yellow Bell Pepper... needs at least a week plus to get to size and start to turn.


Above: This medium heat Lemon Drop Pepper is a week or two away from ripe as well!

It's definitely been a long strange summer, and after a few years of planting, I am now making more notes than ever before! I am planning a bit less experiment (some still but less) for next year and more planting based on enhanced output! I want to maximize my harvests. Finding a balance should be my main goal next year.

4 years I planted a few tomato and a few pepper, and some herbs. 3 years ago, CoVid Pandemic Lockdown year 1, I planted a dozen tomato, and half dozen pepper, as well as some squash. 2 years ago, I started from seed in March, and planted about double the year before. Last year, I doubled again and experimented again. This year, again a few too many experiments, and a drought have impacted my goals.

Next Year, Never Forget.

LOTS More to come, from my GroVid22 Gardens!


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below... and a link to your garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy New Planting and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1200 Posts.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency