A Time To Sow

IMG_1485.JPG

For Every Season, There Is A Time To Sow

For me, planting my garden is about feeding my family FRESH, locally grown, healthy food. To that end, I do not simply plant all the things in march and sit back. No... I plant and I look at the calendar.

Let's talk about what I do, which is called Staggered Succession Planting
In this shot above:
• Top left, butter crunch lettuce, seeded 3 weeks ago.
• Top right, seeded today, Romaine.
• Middle left, Arugula, and Spinach seeded 3 weeks ago
• Middle right, Butter Crunch lettuce seeded today.
• Bottom left, Dark Opal Basil, Oregano, and Sweet basil, and Thyme in round pot.
• Bottom right (w/greens), last of the 1st batch of Butter Crunch lettuce.
• Bottom Right, newly seeded Arugula and Butter Crunch.

THE IMPORTANT PART of Staggered Succession, is to start seeds at different times, and plan the time it takes to harvest. I know roughly what we eat as a family for our Lettuce. So, I plant seeds about 3 to 4 weeks apart. this gives the first batch time to grow and be ready for a few harvests, for nightly meals. Then, as the first batch of seeds and lettuce bolt, and die off, going bitter, the next batch is ready for picking and eating.

Below here, two of the old planters of Lettuce. As lettuce gets older while growing it becomes more bitter. The Romaine (Top), and Red Romaine (bottom) lettuce is really bitter now. I removed most of the roots and plants, and tossed them to the compost pile. Kept SOME of the soil, to be added to new compost and new Peat. this mix of 1/3 soil, 1/3 compost, 1/3 peat is what I use for all my containers.

IMG_1480.JPG

IMG_1481.JPG

Below Some of the Sweet Banana Pepper are turning from green to yellow to orange and even a bit red!

IMG_1486.JPG

IMG_1488.JPG

IMG_1487.JPG

Above Lots more Sweet Banana Pepper on the plants, ready to turn sweet yellow!

IMG_1499.JPG

Above Lastly, this is the most important part, too! A good solid misting and watering for the newly planted seeds. Water Is Life, or so I am told.

I hope you, too, can plant staggered succession to give your own garden a sustained harvest for yourself and family.

Feeding my family fresh, and naturally home grown food, makes me smile!

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Helluva Tomato Haul HELLUVA TOMATO HAUL
Potato Potato Potato Potato Potato Potato
Dinner And A Show Dinner And A Show
Joyed and Whelmed Joyed and Whelmed
Garden's Below Garden's Below
Food For Family Food For Family
Spaghetti Squash Soon Spaghetti Squash Soon
Peck of Purple Pepper Peck Of Purple Pepper
Today's Garden Pick Todays Garden Pickings
Midnight In the Garden of Bluefin and Elsa Minight In the Garden Of Bluefin And Elsa
Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise Sprawlin' Spaghetti Squash Surprise!
Dinner and More... Dinner, and More...
Potato Harvest One. Potato Harvest One
Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry Cherry Cherry, Bo Berry!
Almost Ripe, Almost Tasty Amost Ripe, Almost Tasty!
I Grow, Therefore I Am I Grow, Therefore I Am
Lettuce Look! Lettuce Look At The Garden
Vegetable Garden Vegetable Garden Video Tour
Plants and Flowers VIDEO TOUR Plants and Flowers Video Tour
Quick Recap Grovid21 Quick Recap Grovid 21
Alive After A Week Away Alive After A Week Away
40 Days and 40 nights 40 Days and 40 Nights
Label My Garden Label My Garden Grovid
Garden Labels So FAR Labels Grovid 21
Tomatos Are OUTSIDE! Tomatos Are Grovid Ready
Going Outside Grovid 21 Going Outside
Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Bluefin Studios


Get your OWN BADGES, at HIVE BUZZ


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.png

1000 posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngpostallmonth.png
7250.png95000.png105000.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency