Whales downvoting on newbs? How is this a thing?

I am not gonna whine about this just trying to understand the why's and the consequences because I was invited here as someone thought I would be a good contributer to Hive and that I could even earn a bit of money from my writings which was never my aim but sounded like a nice bonus. So although I've only been on Hive a few weeks this account is 3 years old. Maybe I should have done an #introducemyself post but I only just saw that thing. Maybe this could count as my intro, be it belated.
Intro- I was gifted this account by a friend on FB who also donated me some $ as I used up everything going around voting and commenting on stuff as I explored. Had no clue. Began posting and not much happening until my mentor/donator gave me more tips, then I was off. Great stuff. Found some old friends here from steemit and just getting into the swing and learning what hive is all about. My name on all other platforms is always Northern Tracey or Tracey Northern. I did not pick this name (btw can u change that?) I get about.
So then the reason I'm writing this is-

Screenshot_2021-05-13 Hive A Complete Beginner's Guide (With Fun Doodles) Pt 1 PeakD.png

Brought to my attention by a wise hiver. What do I make of it? Do I crawl into a corner and sniffle to myself. Maybe I would if I understood what it means. Newb remember? All I know is views stopped, upvotes slowed and I even lost a follower. Knew something was amiss so it's good to know what it is I suppose.
To whoever it is doing this it would be nice to come and tell me why, show your face and even throw some abuse at me if it works for you. I can handle it believe me, I've had plenty over the years for my 'out there' views.
I'm not naturally a writer so won't be posting personal rants like this or a daily diary. My writings were just collections of my own research which I wanted to share with as many people as possible as the truth must out. If downvoting means I have no reach here then there is no point to giving hive my content.
I hear that if hive grows all hivers benefit, it seems there are some who prefer to keep it a small elite club. Good luck with that, I predict the hordes coming over the hill soon.
Any advise from the wise hivers is welcome for my learning curve here but especially those professional downvoters, I'd love to hear from them why this makes them feel good or what benefits they get from it if any?

PS I heard it's not the done thing to vote on your own posts, a bit like 'liking' your own posts on fb which seems silly but does bump ur post up the wall so can see why people would do it. But I felt obligated to cancel out the nasty downvotes so upvoted every one the critter slapped a downvote on. Am I a bad person now? Who cares I'm already hated so in for a penny in for a pound......Any tips on how to give my votes out optimally will be also welcomed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency