What's up with my Presearch node? Is it worth it? Half-year report!

I don't really pay any attention to my Presearch node, but today I just checked the stats, and I noticed that it has been running for almost 6 months. I read about it first in a post written by @tomoyan, and I decided to get a node up and running myself. I found a cheap VPS for which I only have to pay $3 USD per month, so that is kind of the cost of running it. But is it worth it?

presearch node status.png

You need to have at least 1000 PRE tokens to run a node (currently worth around $45), and I was running the node with 1000 tokens for a while. Then I had some downtime (since I have limited server space on the cheap VPS, and thus the disk space was full and it stopped working). Since then I try to regularly run a cleanup on the node, and as I do that, there is no disk space trouble anymore.

However, I added some more PRE tokens a few months ago, meaning that I now have approximately 9000 PRE tokens added running with the node.

What are the results after half a year of running a Presearch node?

To be honest, I have currently made approximately 800 PRE tokens. With today's price, those are worth approximately $35-$40. I have had the node running at a price of $3 per month, making it a total cost of $18 so far. In other words, my actual rewards here are somewhere below $20 in six months.

presearch status.jpg

That leads me to the next question... is it worth it?

To be honest, I wouldn't say that it is worth it at the moment. You are almost running in minus, and the only reason why I am in a plus is that I had some leftover PRE tokens that I could add to my node, thus I am receiving higher rewards than those only adding 1000 PRE tokens to their node.

Do you get it? Of course, if you have loads of PRE tokens that you have no intention of selling, this might be a nice way to earn some more tokens, but if not... I'd probably steer my investment and energy in some other direction.

If you want more information on how you can setup a Presearch node on a VPS, take a look at the following article: https://www.ipaddressguide.org/how-to-set-up-a-presearch-node-which-vps-to-use/

Anyone else has any comments worth sharing on the topic? I would love to hear from you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency