Zekely Biweekly - Food, Drink and Glorious Autumn!


zekepeek.jpg

It has been a steady diet of curveballs as we transition from a 6-month March Break right into the oncoming fall season. It seems the cooler days started immediately after the kids headed carefully back to school but there is plenty of nice days for someone who refuses to admit summer is over.

Here is a whirlwind tour of the mini adventures I have managed to stuff between all of the mandatory things I do to keep the lights on and build my empire.


image.png


IMG_9741.jpg

On of the best ways to rebel against autumn and keep the faith for summer is to continue to golf! For me, it is a 3-fer as I have always loved to golf, have not been able to the last 10 years, my better half enjoys it (so I can earn wifepoints©) AND it is a business expense we are building into the culture of our company right from the start.

I will be heading out again in the morning for some good @actifit steps and perhaps a nice #wednesdaywalk but this was last week at the charity tournament. Great fun!


image.png


IMG_9759.jpg

Another fantastic out-door event is to take some family to the nearby apple orchard. @zekepickleman/actifit-zekepickleman-20200916t142445850z Our preferred one is 30 minutes away and well worth the drive for the corn maze, train, animals, pumpkin patch, and dozens of varieties of apples you pick yourself. There are only a few to choose from as they all become ready for picking at different times according to the season and breed.

These ones are obviously well into the season as so many have fallen onto the ground. All I can think of is that it would be inexpensive as hell to learn how to ferment a nice cider with all the cheap bruised and over ripe ones they cant sell as easily. When the zombie apocalypse hits, having a cidermaker, should a community survive, would be an invaluable commodity. Save a lot of risky scavenging for whisky. But I digress.


image.png


IMG_9799.jpg

Apples are not the only thing you find on the ground this time of year. A mushroom as fantastic as that segue has popped up on my front 40 and depth of field CAN be shot on an iphone. Though the neighbours probably found it peculiar that a grown ass man would be crawling on his lawn, you have to do strange things when your followers number just a smidge under 1200.

The pristine cap, funky ring (remnant of the partial vale), and eye-catching gills could make anyone a mushroom geek and click this link to start learning about them. https://www.epicurious.com/ingredients/how-to-buy-and-store-different-types-of-mushrooms-recipes-article


image.png


IMG_9839.jpg

I am not sure why it makes me wanna walk like Connor MacGregor/Steph Curry when I absolutely kill a pizza. There are 4 different tastes in the family when if comes to preferred pizza toppings. We range from meatatarian to full on vegetarian, to a spice lover and then that one strange person who has all the topping on his pizza. I will give you 3 guesses who that is and the first 2 don't count.

What I enjoyed the most about this round of wheels was the fact that 8 varieties of herbs and vegetables were picked 20 feet from where this was made, 10 minutes before. Now if I could only grow cheese.


image.png


IMG_9814.jpg

This is the starting line of the "I bet you a six-pack I can eat the whole order of nachos" challenge. I will skip to the spoiler and let you know I kinda cheated. You see, I am clever enough to be pouring the awesome IPA and filled him full of a couple pints so he couldn't finish.

The juvenile fun I still manage to have is a gift. I am pretty sure that I am old enough to have passed the statute of limitations of growing up. Meaning, at this point, I don't even have to.


image.png


IMG_9807.jpg

Speaking of IPA, I could hear the growing legion of Beerologist followers asking "where the hell is the beer?!?!" Well, here is one I highlighted on #beersaturday @zekepickleman/beersaturday-zeke-s-sweet-ipas I take a quick romp around popular North American IPAs as brewed in Canada.

This one is neat for a few reasons.

  • Maltier than the standard IPA as you can see by the hue
  • Sweeter than the standard West Coast IPA
  • PC and Console gamers alike will love this simply for the label and gaming session flashbacks.


image.png


IMG_9822.jpg

I do enjoy more than just beer but will have to admit that this one isn't even mine. It was date night at the Red Rabbit Bistro https://www.redrabbitresto.com/ and this photo doesn't' do this Fruit Loop daquiri. The whole evening deserves a post due to the service, variety and quality of delicacies, environment and wonderful drinks. I won't do it though as the photos I managed to snap were all under dim light like this one and the rainbow of flavour deserve better than what I captured.

Back to the drink. Brit whipped up a homey instant classic and my better half happily sipped it to the ice cubes.


image.png


IMG_9736.JPG

May your last 2 weeks have been as engaging as mine. May your travels take you to the top of the world and line your pockets withgold. May you enjoy the weather wherever you are and sip the nectar of the gods. Halleluyah holy shit!

Thanks for checking in! Your old pal Zeke is doin' Fantastic!


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg

image.png


I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png


How do you hang on to summer where you are?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency