The Weekly Zekely - Adventures in Delicious!


zekepeek.jpg

I like to pause once a week and look back through my photos relive memorable moments, remember the forgotten ones, and reflect upon a busy week. Sharing them here helps me live in the moment...retroactively.

My week has predictably been dominated by the continued reopening of the restaurants after a month+ lockdown. Seeing as many of the dining establishments are clients of mine, and I enjoy treating the family to some safe local dining now that we are able, it is a welcome change.

Let's check out the benefits of supporting local restaurants.


image.png


IMG_0889.jpg

For those I have met recently, I live in a town that hosts a half a million people at the theatrical festival alone. Relatively historic old town with far too many restaurants per capita. I run a digital marketing company dedicated to supporting locally-owned businesses and restaurants are a good portion of our book of business.

There was a provincial government mandated lockdown to end 2020 which stretched into February and spelled the temporary halt to dining unless it was take out. We were busy helping a few of these make that transition and prepare to hit the ground running when the okay was given to host clientele again. That is where we are now as business people and diners...supporting the businesses and rewarding ourselves at the same time.


image.png


IMG_0840.jpg

I had to pick this shot from last week as it was the start of a delicious week. It was time for the 5-year anniversary show for the local vinyl society at https://revival.house which just happens to server a KILLER brunch. There was beer involved but this fancy avocado toast stole the show. The salad apparently kicked ass, oven-roasted spiced potatoes didn't last long and the main feature was to-die-for.

I took my life into my own hands fighting ravenous females for this shot before the carnage but that's just how I roll. Little did I know it was going to be the start of a particularly delicious week.


image.png


IMG_0866.jpg

Sometimes, you get a call Friday afternoon with a request to help a business owner out of a bind. Happens more than that when you are in my business. Still, the request this night was a little strange. "I am in a bind because I am skeleton-staffed, fully booked (thank you marketing!) and one of my guys is a now show. Can you come help?" Hell yah I made a promise and I can break free from week-ending relaxation and an extra beer.

I spent the night rolling the dish pit for the first time in 20 years. Part of the reward, besides supporting a friend in need, was this burger. I had already finished half the beer while working and this baby showed up. It might look goofy for a dishwasher to be taking dramatic photos of their food back in the kitchen. I am not your typical dish pig though. I am also a CEO and a world renowned food blogger!

This Royale with Cheese was fantastic and a nice reward no matter how you spend your evening.


image.png


IMG_0896.jpg

This one brings us to St. Patrick's Day. This baby is a blarney burger. Beef burger with smoked meat, what looks like sauerkraut (which may make it more German than Irish?) and a nice garlic aioli. My partner in crime was feeling healthy and went for the Caesar salad, which is probably the least healthy of salads, but still. I would bet this is not as tasty as the Royale with Cheese but was pretty damn good.


image.png


IMG_0897.jpg

I had to one up the Irishness and went for the meat pie! Tender beef morsels with some cleverly gravied veggies in a yorkshire pudding style bowl. Fries were among the best in the city and the little sprouts were such a nice green touch to reflect the theme of the day.


IMG_0898.jpg

Here is your patented Extreme Dramatic Closeup shot meant to bring you right to the edge of my plate and imagine the other people sneering at the hipster with his camera in his dish. I destroyed that thing.

image.png


IMG_0887.jpg

Next, we visited one of the places they know us by name. Local brewery Heritage Hops https://heritagehopsbrew.com/ was the perfect venue for us to come full circle and enjoy the Sunday after the first. We feasted on nachos, visited for the first time in quite a while, and relished the privilege of being out again for a social beer.


161768067_1191922314572314_7392467019023867722_n.jpg

Speaking of social beers, a flight is probably by far the best way to discover a brewery. Here we have a lighter one for my better half as she discovers everything from light lager to white stout. Tasty Sunday indeed.


image.png


cityhall.jpg

I am relishing my ability to savour the local cuisine as much as I am looking forward to the reopening of the athletic endeavours I enjoy. As of right now, there is no contact which means no jiu jitsu, sailing is months away as is golf, and my heel is too screwed to play hockey. So much adventure to be had as lockdowns recede and the weather gets warmer. 'Til then, I am enjoying the cuisine.


image.png

image.png

We are into yellow/protect mode with most businesses open in a restricted manor. There is a little hysteria about the next variant and a third wave. Hoping people are vigilant and careful enough to fend off rising numbers in this small town. So far so good!

Thanks for checking in! See you next week!


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg

image.png


I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png


Are restaurants and breweries open where you are?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency