The guidance of a parent is important for the young viewers

This poster is owned by me and was drawn using the Sketchbook application and was posted on my Instagram account.

Many people say that being young is the most beautiful experience in life because being young will make you enjoy your adolescence. You are just a curious cat that doesn't mind what is happening in your surroundings. Playing with your friends outside and sometimes your mom won't allow you to go out with them if you won't sleep in the afternoon.

Not until you reach high school. This is the moment that you just want to enjoy your free time by watching TV during the weekend and, if you don't have classes, reading a book rather than going out with your old friends.

When I was younger, I preferred not going to school because I enjoyed watching anime on our television. I enjoyed watching because our grandparents have a television, but in our house before that we didn't have any. I liked watching Dragon Ball Z, Inuyasha, Slamdunk, and my favorite, Doraemon.

But is our generation still the same as before?

Before we answer this question, Let me show you the steps of how I drew this artwork first.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCfPNdkgRsgGaQ1bmCwfUFNY2DfbFWSsHskfy8R5YfbQunkMJEcZYUECWMmAzX3vZwKncjyeD5fo5mGkKdr1CapTRrcMk25pTYU9r3nHa5yHrpW.png

FIRST STEP:

First, I drew a box using the guiding ruler. This box would be for the television's body. After that, I use another guiding ruler to draw the screen of the television.

SECOND STEP:

Second, I drew small circles using the guiding ruler again as the buttons of the television. Then I drew a rectangle and lines for the speaker of the television. After that, I tried to color them using the "Solid Fill" in the Sketchbook. It's a good thing that the outcome is still good.

THIRD STEP:

I erased the left side of the square shape of the television and replaced it with a curved line. I added another curve line on the right side as the side view of the television. Then I decided to draw the body of a man as if it were the body of a television.

FOURTH STEP:

For the first layer, I drew a woman, a man, a child, and a bulb using the basic pencil only and decreased the capasity of the object because we will add another layer and this time, we will draw it again but we will use the technical pen. After we draw it, we will remove the first layer.

FIFTH STEP:

We will draw a book using a guiding ruler again because I don't know how to draw a book if I will gonna use my finger only. I use a basic pencil again btw.

SIXTH STEP:

I colored the objects using a digital brush. This is my first time using this, by the way. And I realized that I haven't tried all the brushes in Sketchbook yet. Anyway, the colors that I used for the skin color are dark brown and light brown. Meanwhile, the shirt colors are red, light red, blue, and light blue. It represents the flag of our country. While the hair colors are black, I use a flow airbrush to add a little white to the center of their hair.
For the color of the bulb, you need the colors orange and yellow. First you need to follow the lines of the light bulb using the color orange. Then you will color the rest, including the light bulb, using the color yellow. Then the handle of the bul5b colors are black and grey.

SEVENTH STEP:

Next, we will color the body of the man. I used a flow airbrush to color it, then I added/drew little hashtag lines on the sides of the TV as a design, and I used dark and light red for the neck tie. Meanwhile, the color of the background is black, and I added a few stars using the glow brush. And if you have noticed the lights, I used Flow airbrush and combined the colors blue, purple, and yellow as the reflecting lights (at this part, it means that the family is coming out of the book).

FINAL PARTS:

I drew a hand that was holding a lighted cigar. To be honest, this is not included, but I think I need to add more because it looks as if I will just draw a family, a television, and the body. because we used to draw all the illustration boards in full without coloring them white when we were in a posting making contest. Unless it's needed for the color of the shirts and other things. So I decided to put my hands that were holding a cigar. But I don't know how to draw it since I am using my finger only. I tried too many times, and there was a moment when I didn't want to continue it anymore, but I remembered that someone said to me that I should use my own body part as a reference, and so I tried, and good thing that it was effective! Then, after I drew them, I colored them using the same brush and colors that I used to color the skin of the family members. Then, I colored the cigar. The colors were orange and light orange, while the lights were a combination of black and red. I used an airflow brush to add a red and orange color and added smoke using an airbrush. Then, as for the background of the man, I decided to draw the Earth.

And that's it. And I just fixed some of the things that I needed to fix.


WHAT IS THE MEANING OF THIS ARTWORK OF MINE?

After seeing the word, "Television" in the lists of prompts for the Art Challenge, I remembered the high school student that I saw when I went to my former school last Wednesday. I think he is just a second-year high school student based on his height, and I was very shocked when I saw him going home while he was using a cigar. I wonder if his parents knew about this?

I don't know if I have the right to stop him because I don't know him and I am an introverted person, so I don't know how to encourage someone first.

Seeing students in this generation makes me feel sad. Especially since sometimes, one of the reasons why young people become like this is that they watch shows on television because most of the shows on Philippine television right now are not the same as before. More in mistress situations, more scenarios of a younger generation using cigars and drinking alcohol, and I think they thought it was cool, so they learned how to do it as well. So, they should limit these shows to being aired on television and bring back the cartoons or movies we used to watch.

And to prevent this, I just hope that parents never forget to guide their children to the shows that they watch. Because a parent's guide is very important so that they can teach their children moral lessons from each show that they have watched. Of course, not only on television but also the impact of social media on the younger generation as well.

hphdivider-1.gif

I tried to draw for my second entry for the @hiveph community's Sining at Likhain Art Challenge (week 4) again and this time, I chose the word "television".

I know that there are a lot of things that I need to fix here because I'm still learning to draw using mobile devices and applications. I am accepting some suggestions because I am willing to learn from you all, especially about the right brushes to use for coloring and drawing the objects. Thanks for reading!


Published by: @xanreo | HIVE
Date: October 29, 2022

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency