Any Film Snobs Out There? Let's Start a Conversation About Arthouse, Indie film, Classical Movies and Documentaries

discord.png

Inspired by a message from my buddy @inuke on discord and my response on it, I decided to try something new ( once again ). After all, the only constant in life is change and if there's something I like to do, it's changing my mind and finetuning ideas or starting on better ones when I get them.


Now let's add some backstory, before I present my new idea to you:

A couple of months ago, @churdtzu told me of a movie chat on discord. I subscribed, added my voice and opinion to a discussion and was soon called a 'film snob'. It made me google the word 'snob', even though I know what it stands for. And - not much later - I left that group, as I felt they weren't talking about the kind of movies that I like there and it didn't feel like a place spending time ( just what a snob would say, I know, haha ).

Since I started out on Steemit, in June 2017, I have mainly written - and even spoken - about movies and filmmaking. Whenever I'm not working on a film project myself, I tend to write about movies or creativity. Nevertheless, depending on the energy I put into something and get back for it, I either go on with an idea or stop pursuing it. So let's see where this goes...

Unfortunately ( for a film snob like me), most movie posts on here are about Blockbuster and Hollywood movies. As I studied film and film history and have years of experience working as a filmmaker on shoe string budget indie productions, my taste in films is more or less contrary to that of the average movie fan.

Long story short, although I can add to the discussion of mainstream cinema, it often makes me overly negative ( and I prefer to be positive ). If I want to be positive or - even better - passionate, you and I need to discuss arthouse, lowbudget, indie movies or classical cinema. I know there are some of you out there who are into those kind of films. From the top of my head: @namiks @janenightshade @maxjoy @lionsuit @serialfiller @vachemorte @juliakponsford

And then there are a bunch of you who used to comment on my film posts, when I still wrote quite a lot of those: @macchiata @inuke @carlgnash @qsounds @stephie.spicer @movievigilante @dedicatedguy

plus a couple of you who might enjoy contributing to this discussion, one way or another: @derosnec @coldsteem @brian-rhodes @ashtv @marinauzelac @distantsignal

If you can think of anyone else who would like to join this conversation, please let them know by tagging them in a reply to this post. I am really looking for(ward to) some interaction, more than just sharing knowledge, talking to myself, which really isn't that much fun, haha!

Let me kick off, by throwing in two films that I've seen in the last 7 days and found worth watching:

  • The latest feature film by Quentin Dupieux ( formerly known as Mr. Oizo ) - Au Poste ( Keep an Eye Out )
    and a documentary I watched yesterday night on musician Scott Walker of whom I'd never heard but who is/ was - I feel - the David Lynch of music. For those of you who didn't know, David Lynch was my biggest inspiration as a filmmaker as well as my favorite filmmaker and still is one of my favorite all time creatives.
Did any of you see hear of Scott Walker? Have you perhaps seen one of those two films, or any other work by Quentin Dupieux. And - if so - how did you like them? Feel free to comment on this post with your response or write a post on it and share it in the comments.

Have an awesome day and I am looking forward to your replies

P.S. Both films I discussed are watched by me and can be found on streaming site MUBI - an amazing arthouse alternative to Netflix - by following these links:

Keep an Eye Out- Quentin Dupieux (2018)
Scott Walker: 30 Century Man - Stephen Kijak (2006)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
57 Comments
Ecency