Tapioca Pudding - Lori's Cookbook

IMGP1847_step9.JPG

Here is my all-time favorite dessert as a child - and it's still one of my favorites. (No, please don't make me choose an actual favorite!) Note: this is my entry into the @foodfightfriday challenge.

Some recipes have you bake it, but we always made it on the stove top. I use the "custard" method.

Tapioca Pudding

Start with a medium-sized saucepan.
Add to it:

  • 1/2 cup tapioca pearls
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

IMGP1824_step1.JPG

I am using small pearl tapioca, not the quick version and not the large pearls which would take longer to cool.

Place on the stove and pour in:

  • 3 cups milk

I am using half almond milk and half buttermilk because my husband cannot tolerate uncultured dairy milk.

IMGP1825_step2.JPG

IMGP1828_step3.JPG

As I wait for the burner to heat to about medium-high, I prepare for the next time-critical step. In a Pyrex jug, I break:

  • 2 eggs

I beat the eggs until well blended. I am just using a fork this time.

As the pudding mixture heats, I whisk it vigorously and frequently. It is critical to not let the pudding stick to the bottom of the pan and scorch.

I bring the pudding to a boil, whisking frequently. It should even start to thicken.

IMGP1836_step4.JPG

IMGP1837_step5.JPG

Slowly stir some of the pudding into the jug of beaten eggs. Slowly is essential or the eggs will cook into little curds. Pour in more pudding until the eggs are well-incorporated into the pudding.

Slowly pour the eggs and pudding back into the pan.

IMGP1838_step6.JPG

IMGP1841_step7.JPG

Keep cooking, still whisking, until the pudding has thickened. This should only take a couple of minutes.

When the pudding is thickened, remove it from the burner.
Stir in:

  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

IMGP1845_step8.JPG

IMGP1847_step9.JPG

Divide it between 4-6 ramekins (small bowls) and chill until needed - or eat while it's still warm.

Here is your...

Recipe Card

tapioca_pudding.jpg


kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace


Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

</center

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency