Starry Happy Little Rock - Viking Visual Art Tutorial

IMGP2925_7k_artistic_1600.JPG
(Image available at RedBubble and DeviantArt.)

I love how this work turned out.

  • I began with:

    (Image available at RedBubble and Picfair.)

  • I made a second layer instantly in order to divide the foreground from the background. I deleted about half of the background white to give it a horizon for the new background.

  • Next, I added a CC0 background (PXFuel, I think) from my collection as a cosmos background. (Three layers now.)

  • Then, I copied and did a vertical flip on the cosmos picture. (Four layers.)

  • The rock layer background was made semi-transparent to bring the cosmos colors through, but I still had a full-color layer in front.

  • So, I carefully deleted everything in the water, except the rock's own reflection which remained.

And there you have it... A "happy little rock" (thank you, Bob Ross!) with a starry night background and reflection - all in four layers.


All work done by myself on: Gimp
Background photo from PXFuel (I think... or some other CC0 site.)
Cross-posted on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Past A'mara Books tutorials:

DAZ 3D tutorials (not A'mara Books related):

Organizing Daz 3D Studio content ,

Photo salvages:

Droplet, Bellis Daisy, Baby Blue Flowers, version 1, version 2, 2-Spot Ladybug, version 1, version 2, Bridge Over River Kennet

Coloring Tutorials & Mini-tutorials:

Zen colouring #43, Zen colouring #39, Zen colouring #38, Zen colouring #37, Zen colouring #36, Zen colouring #35, Zen colouring #34, Zen colouring #33,

Butterfly Colouring #11, Butterfly Colouring #10

Destruction Island Night Magic,

Halloween Artwork:

2018 - Pumpkin Patch Harvest
2019 - Haunted Pumpkin House, Jack-o-Lantern Forest Cemetery, Shadow in a Misty Forest

Miscellaneous Artwork:

Painting Wooded Easter Eggs



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble)
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu


Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency