Peach Crisp - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

IMGP3664_1600.JPG

It may not be quite the show-stopper in appearance, but what it doesn't have in looks it definitely has in taste! What better way to use up a surplus of peaches??? (Or other fruit...)

This is another case where I was looking at two separate recipes to put together what I wanted in mine.

Peach Crisp

Preheat the oven to 425F/210C.

I start off making the topping.

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 Tablespoons flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 6 Tablespoons cold butter, cut into cubes.
    (If you're using 250g blocks of butter, cut it in half, then use 3/4 of one half for this recipe.)

It looks like I was using almond flour for this recipe as I was (at the time) beginning my road back onto a low-carb diet to try to regain my health. I reduced the amount of sugar from 3/4 c to 1/2 c.

IMGP3654.JPG

Rather than "mixing" this mixture, I'm using a pastry blender which makes cutting butter into a mixture a very simple task.

I love my pastry blender - it comprises four or five curved blades (as sharp as a good table knife) and a handle. It's easier than the "two knives" solution that British recipe books ask for. It's worth finding one if you like to make this kind of recipe.

IMGP3657_1600.JPG

Next, I slice my peaches. I didn't really measure them, just filled my square pan about halfway with them. One of the recipes I was looking at figured 2 lbs, or about 5 peaches, but let the pan be your guide. Better to have too many slices than too few. (If they are under-ripe, then maybe sprinkle a bit of sugar on them, but you probably won't need that.)

IMGP3658_1600.JPG

Then, I sprinkle the topping over the peaches.

IMGP3659_1600.JPG

Bake the crisp for 20-25 minutes.

IMGP3663_1600.JPG

Hmmm, yum! I like to pour heavy cream over it, like one might do in England. You could use whipped cream or just eat it as is. It's amazing!

IMGP3664_1600.JPG

Here are your...

Recipe Cards

Feel free to print them out and use them in your cookbook. I'd love to see pictures of your version of this recipe! If you want to make it more low-carb or Keto, go ahead and show me your result!

recipe_01.jpg

recipe_02.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg

Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Appetizers

Marinated Olives & Nuts

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Battered & Fried Prawns & Zukes
Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30

Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency