Marinated Olives & Nuts - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

This week's food post is a bit different in that I didn't actually like the final product, but I think that's more to do with me than with the recipe.

IMGP3635.JPG

Marinated Olives & Nuts

In a quart-sized canning jar, place:

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 can olives (drained)
  • 1 sprig rosemary (I didn't have any, so I used dried...)

IMGP3587.JPG

In skillet, sauté (dry):

  • 2 teaspoons fennel seeds
  • a few slices orange peel or zest

IMGP3589.JPG

Add to skillet:

  • 1-2 dried chilies (or 1-2 teaspoons chili flakes)
  • 2 cups olive oil

Heat through.

IMGP3590.JPG

Pour into the quart jar (with the walnuts, olives and rosemary sprig.)

Marinate for 24 hours (room temp.)

IMGP3595.JPG

Here is the final result.

IMGP3635.JPG

Honestly, it was good, but I'm not super keen on walnuts in their raw or nearly-raw state, so I probably should have tried pecans instead. I also found the dried rosemary tended to "hang out" inside the olives, which didn't really work for me. A sachet with the herbs in it might work better or use a fennel seedhead along with the sprig of rosemary... I might play with it this summer if I'm able to garden the way I want to.

Still, for many, this is an excellent recipe, looks beautiful and adds a touch of class to your dining table.

Here are your:

Recipe Cards

Feel free to print them out for your own cookbook.

marinated_olives_nuts_01_1600.jpg

marinated_olives_nuts_02_1600.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Battered & Fried Prawns & Zukes
Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30, Samsung NX11, Kodak Z981 (hubby's camera), Nikon 7200.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency