Garlic-Herb Bread - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday.

Garlic bread is such a comfort food! It goes with so many other dishes as well. Yet, I found it difficult to work out how much garlic I needed. Finally, I started looking at some recipes until I found something I liked. The process is so simple it's worth trying for anyone who likes garlic bread!

Garlic-Herb Butter

First, you need to mix up the butter.

Start with a stick of softened butter. That is 1/2 cup or around 125g if you use metric.

Add to the butter:

  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons garlic granules
  • 1/2 Tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 Tablespoon dried oregano
    (If using fresh, reduce Tablespoons to Teaspoons.)

IMGP3419_ingred.JPG

Stir until the herbs are well-incorporated into the butter.

IMGP3424.JPG

You can chill the garlic-herb butter for later use or use it immediately for garlic-herb bread.
You might also like it more garlicky - double (or more) the garlic if this is you...


Garlic-Herb Bread

Preheat the oven to 400F.

Slice the bread. Ideally, you want French or Italian bread - a day old is ideal. I'm using my No-Knead Bread which I formed into French-style loaves.

IMGP3425.JPG

Spread the slices with garlic-herb butter. I kept slicing until I used up the butter, but then, I have a family to feed.

IMGP3427.JPG

Bake the bread slices on the top shelf of the oven for 10-12 minutes. (Watch closely as they are very good at burning!)

IMGP3428.JPG

Serve with Spaghetti and Meatballs , any Italian-inspired dish or with steak as we did. (This was baked lamb - yum!)

IMGP3432.JPG

Recipe Cards

As usual, here are your recipe cards. Feel free to print these out to add to your own cookbook.

garlic_herb_butter_1600.jpg

garlic_herb_bread_1600.jpg

(Hmmm, I think this is on the menu tonight!)

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Breads

No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency