Fathead Dough & Fathead Stromboli - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

IMGP3844_1600.JPG

Fathead Dough

As part of my mission to get healthier, I am cutting out almost all grains from my diet - especially wheat. Of course, if you want to make anything that remotely resembles bread, you have to get creative.

Okay, "fathead dough" doesn't conjure any warm feelies in the name and the first time I saw the recipe, I had serious doubts that it could work. Despite that, it has gained huge momentum in the paleo and keto communities as a great grain-free dough that can substitute for a great many things - so, I had to try it.

I used the recipe I found on the Ditch the Carbs blog.

So, I put these three ingredients into a microwave-safe bowl:

  • 1 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese (low-moisture is important)
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 2 Tablespoons cream cheese

IMGP3827_1600.JPG

I put these in the microwave for 2 minutes on high and this is what it looked like:

IMGP3829_1600.JPG

Surprisingly, it worked as intended and easily mixed into this:

IMGP3830_1600.JPG

I added:

  • 1 egg
    And kneaded the dough with wet hands.

IMGP3831_1600.JPG

This is what I had...
This gloppy mess made me worry...

But I kept going... onto the...

Fathead Stromboli

Stromboli - I first came across this concept probably 18-20 years ago when I still lived in England. It is a fairly simple concept, easily adapted to your personal tastes.

Today, I took a gamble on this "fathead dough" to see if it would do what I wanted. The gamble was due to the fact that I didn't see any full recipes for it, so it was risky business - especially since I wasn't even sure this dough was going to work - it was so wet! (If I had a normal bread this wet, I'd be kneading more flour into it!)

So, I used my wet fingers again to massage the dough into a squarish shape. (I decided to use my silicone sheet to make rolling it up easier.)

IMGP3832_1600.JPG

I covered it with a layer of meat slices, then shredded mozzarella... then salami slices and more mozzarella.

IMGP3833_1600.JPG

Rolling it up was going to be the tricky part... Wet fingers helped again. Even so, I had to use bits from one end to patch up bits on the other.

Still, even after I sprinkled it with Italian seasoning, it looked like this.

IMGP3836_1600.JPG

I put it in a 350F (about 150C) oven for 20-30 minutes (I didn't watch the time that closely - just looked at my loaf.)

Other than the one minor leak, I think it looks quite good.

IMGP3842_1600.JPG

It didn't rise like a traditional bread stromboli, but I think you can see that it worked very well.
I served it with a spring greens salad.

IMGP3844_1600.JPG

And how did it taste?
Oh yeah! Oh yeah! This one is definitely happening again! It really did do just the right things in the mouth, very satisfying, definitely comfort food that I don't have to feel bad about.

One kid complained that it was too much mozzarella (no Italian blood in this family...), but ate it. The other didn't like it at all. Hubby liked it very much and ate the other rejected helping. Next time, I will make two - maybe mix in some cheddar for the inside of the stromboli.

Let your imagination run wild on this one! If it works on pizza, it probably works in stromboli.

Here are your

Recipe cards.

Feel free to print them and use them! (Maybe even share photos of what you made!)

fathead_dough_process.jpg

fathead_stromboli_process.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Breads

No-Knead Bread

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency