Cranana Chumpkin Bread - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

What happens when you take a recipe and twist it? It becomes your own!
I took a pumpkin-banana bread recipe and added cranberries and chocolate chips to it. But when you say all those things at the same time, the recipe becomes a bit unwieldy.

Introducing my...

Cranana Chumpkin Bread!

FILE0065_step13.jpg

Process

(This time, I was making a double recipe.)

Begin by:

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Grease and flour 2-3 bread pans.

FILE0036_step01.jpg

Mash:

  • 2 over-ripe bananas (picture shows 4 because I was making a double recipe.)

FILE0037_step02.jpg

Add:

  • 1 cup soaked cranberries (mine were leftover from making cranberry juice)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
    (Picture shows the double recipe I was making.)
    Set this bowl aside.

FILE0040_step03.jpg

In a clean bowl, mash with the back of a wooden spoon:

  • 1/3 cup softened butter
    (picture shows double recipe.)

FILE0041_step04.jpg

Mash into the butter (this process is called creaming):

  • 1 1/3 cup granulated sugar

FILE0043_step05.jpg

This is what it looks like afterwards. It doesn't have to be perfect for this recipe, but the butter should be well-incorporated into the sugar.

FILE0044_step06.jpg

Stir in:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup oil (I almost always use olive oil)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

FILE0047_step07.jpg

This is how it looks afterwards. You can use a hand mixer if you desire, but for this recipe it's not critical. The butter will melt during baking.

FILE0048_step08.jpg

Stir in:

  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    (Picture shows my double recipe.)

FILE0050_step09.jpg

Carefully stir in:

  • mixed fruit (from earlier)
  • chocolate chips (I used a large bag for my double recipe - add what you think feels right for you.)

FILE0053_step10.jpg

My batter is ready for the oven.

FILE0057_step11.jpg

Spoon/pour into the prepared bread pans. Never fill the pan more than about 2/3 full or it will rise over the top of the pan!

FILE0058_step12.jpg

Bake 50 minutes at 350F. Cover with foil (if you like - I didn't) and bake another 10 minutes until a knife or skewer pushed into the middle of the bread comes out clean (or with only molten chocolate!)

Allow to cool before removing from the pans. Butter if desired.

FILE0065_step13.jpg

Recipe Card

As always, feel free to print these out and put them in your recipe collection.

crananachumpkinbread01.jpg

crananachumpkinbread02.jpg

crananachumpkinbread03.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30, Kodak Z981 (hubby's camera)
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency