Buttermilk Pancakes for Breakfast! - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

Can you go wrong with breakfast pancakes? Whether you like the huge American-style pancakes or the small Swedish type (what I grew up with), it's always a treat!

Why should anyone use a mix, especially with their unsavory ingredients?!
My original recipe is based on the old (i.e. 70s) Betty Crocker recipe, but like with many things, it has evolved.

This recipe is easily scalable by thirds (according to eggs used.)

How to make pancakes! (It's easy)

Today's version should serve a family of four (figure one egg per person as you scale it up or down.)

  • Beat four eggs.

IMGP3460.JPG

  • Stir in 2/3 cup each of two kinds of flour.

In this image, I'm using almond flour and rice flour. (low-carb-ish)
You can also use plain flour and whole wheat or swap in/out buckwheat flour or almost anything you want to use. Coconut flour instead of the rice flour for grain-free.
This recipe is very versatile.

IMGP3461.JPG

  • Stir in 1 1/3 cup of your preferred type of milk.

In this image, I'm using homemade buttermilk (see below) because my husband can't tolerate uncultured dairy.
You can choose to use cows' milk or any milk substitute if it can tolerate heating. You could probably even use cream if you wanted to go that direction.

Note: amount of milk is 1:1 in ratio to the combined flour - this will help you alter the recipe to your needs.

IMGP3463.JPG

  • Add 2/3 cup oil (I use olive)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

I've tried with less oil, but the pancakes don't hold together very well then - especially with the low-carb versions. (I always use olive oil, though melted butter would work very well with this - I am just too lazy most mornings to wait for the butter to melt!)

Baking soda works equally well with this recipe, though I prefer the softer flavor of aluminum-free baking powder. Bob's Red Mill makes a good version.

IMGP3464.JPG

You want your pan nice and hot before you start frying.
I like it about medium-high. If you're using a griddle, I think you want 350-375F.
They work a lot better if you've just fried a batch of bacon on the pan or griddle.
(I'm using my cast iron griddle pan which I love.)

I reuse that 2/3 cup measure and fill it about halfway with batter for each pancake. The actual size is up to you, of course, but the larger it is, the harder it is to get it to cook all the way through without burning.

The pancake is ready to flip when the surface looks dry and the bubbles leave their holes rather than filling in with batter.

IMGP3465.JPG

Flip the pancake and let it brown on the other side.

IMGP3469.JPG

Serve it with bacon and maple syrup - or however you prefer.
Strawberries and cream is a good alternative, especially if they're fresh!

IMGP3470.JPG

Your Recipe Cards

pancake_recipe_1.jpg

pancake_recipe_2.jpg

Buttermilk (it's easy!)

Here's some of the previous batch that I'm using as a starter - the consistency of homemade buttermilk is a bit thicker than commercial buttermilk.

You can buy buttermilk at the supermarket and use it for your starter - I buy fresh probably once a year or so.

IMGP1777.JPG

I fill the jar maybe 1/8 full (more if the culture is feeling weak.)

IMGP1780.JPG

Fill the jar the rest of the way with fresh milk.

IMGP1781.JPG

Put the lid on and leave it to culture at room temperature 12-36 hours depending on how warm the room is, how thick you want it and how strong the culture is.

Bonus Recipe Card!

buttermilk_recipe.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30, Samsung NX11, Kodak Z981 (hubby's camera)
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency