NOVA DRIFT - The latest GEM I found... (ARPG Shooter Roguelite)

Good day to everyone!
It's @trippymane
with some Gaming today!

With Gameplay videos as well at the bottom of the post 😎😜




Quick Intro



The other day I had one of those days where I didn't wanna play any of my current games (LOL) and I just wanted to try some new stuff ahah usually I go down the rabbit hole with indie games....

Tuesday I found one of those games that are hidden gems, games that you can play for hours, days, maybe even months and still have fun, a game that every play-through is different! A game that when you lose and die you are not frustrated but you are eager to restart and get more points, a game that simply makes you have fun the way a good game should!
Nowadays is difficult to find such game...
Probably you know...

When I find a game that does not bore me within the first hour that's something special, and when I lose 3-4 hours on a game without realising it that's when I know the game is SICK! (IMHO)
And this is one of those games, the day I found the game I played it a bit even before going to sleep (3 hours lol), it's one of the "just one more try" kinda game, the time-wasting hell...LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT FOR A GAMER! lol




The game I want to show you guys today is:
NOVA DRIFT

header.jpg
Source - STEAM - You can buy the game here!

If anyone of you played Asteroids and liked it then if you try this one you are going to LOVE IT! It's basically Asteroids with the Upgrade, the proper Upgrade!

The game is simpler than simple, you are a spaceship, survive!

Very simple controls, if you play with the mouse you use the cursor to aim (you shoot in the direction of the cursor) the right button to shoot and the left button to thrust in the direction you are aiming with the cursor (and they can be changed in the settings 😁).

As you progress and kill enemies you get EXP and level up, with each level up you get a random upgrade (or mod)! This is what makes the game great and so different in each run! Also the enemies get stronger wave after wave.
The mods are random and there are a lot of them, also as you progress you unlock more, so in every run you never end up with the same as in the previous run.
Usually the first mod is a new weapon, the second is a shield and the third is the shape of the ship (In this cases you pick up 1 out of 3 choices)
All the next mods usually are random to choose 1 out of 7.
(You unlock REROLLS along the way as well, now I start with about 7-9 rerolls and that makes it much easier to complete the mod trees, more on that later!)

As you progress and unlock additional Rerolls it gets easier to replicate a particular setup in each playthrough, so in case you find a particular weapon/shield/mod/etc that you like the game gives you the ability to replicate it! I am currently testing all the possible combinations of different mods and this is a brilliant aspect of the game, the ability to have a different setup in each game makes it super fun for me! It feels different each time!

It's basically an action shooter rogue-lite game, here's the Wiki definition of Roguelike

Roguelike (or rogue-like) is a subgenre of role-playing video games characterized by a dungeon crawl through procedurally generated levels, turn-based gameplay, grid-based movement, and permanent death of the player character.

The terms Roguelike and Roguelite often get confused and interchanged, from my understanding rogue-lite is a kind of roguelike game that uses a lot of roguelike features and mechanics but it's not a pure ARPG/RPG, that's why I think this game is referred to as rogue-lite.

In human words roguelike games are the ones where you advance through random generated levels, levelling up and upgrading along the way and if you die YOU DIE! GAME OVER! LOL You got to restart the game from the beginning, all those juicy updates you collected along the way? Gone, Zero, Nada, Nihil!
The majority of roguelike games are RPG where you go through random dungeons but apart from not being an RPG this game hits all the other checks for the roguelike genre.

You record your points in the table and they become EXP points that go towards unlocking new mods and stuff.



These are the base mods available (The first 3 mods - Weapon, Shield, Ship Shape):

base_gear.png



Here you can see some of the extra stuff I have unlocked:

unlocks.png

Still lots of stuff locked (some extra base mods looks like it) and this is great! New game modes, and extra features! A lot of re-playability here folks! 😎


The mods I talked about earlier can also be part of "Mod Trees" and get more powerful along the way (except the first 3 base mods which stay the same unless you change them, your weapon and shield power improves thanks to the other mods you pick up along the game), here you can see how many I have unlocked at the moment:

mods.png


And look at all the base mod trees already available from the beginning:

basemods.png
I edited this picture in order to fit all the mods in one single pic


There is also this to unlock which I still don't know what it is, I really want to find out!

boh.png


That's pretty much it for the game really, it's a very fun and addictive game, every playthrough feels different and in each game there's going to be a surprise, especially in the beginning as you unlock the new features. Careful always with the mods and Focus on the game at all times, I did lose many games because of silly mistakes or simply not following what was going on (maybe trying to use a new feature or some mod recently unlocked), usually I die always in really stupid ways! This makes me mad and I really wanna retry again and again and again, you can easily lose hours on this game! Super worth it for me ahahah when I play this game I am in that spaceship out in space trying to survive, the immersion is incredible! I highly advise this game to everyone! Great stress reliever or simple fun time!



Little extra: WILD MODE


I have not played much in this mode but from what I understand is a mode where you have extra wild mods available for upgrades and they make the game feel really different, I am currently focused on the normal modes but I will definitely play more in this mode later!

Here is a peak at what those extra mods are:

wildmods.png



EXTRA NOTE:

All those mods and features I have showed have a brief description obviously, in the game to see the description and get more details about the mod you need to simply hover with the cursor over the mod and it will show a popup with the extra info! Same thing during the game when you pick up upgrades with each level up, if you're going to check the videos you'll see me checking for what upgrades to pick (at times taking my time on it lol).




TRIPPY'S GAMEPLAY VIDEOS

I had the idea for this post few days ago and started writing it yesterday, then I thought to play the game and record it for this post, I don't know if that was it but my second try it's my record so far! 😎
(I will play a bit after finishing this post so maybe I will beat that ahaha wish me luck)

In the second game I called myself trippyrecordhive on the scoreboard thinking about this post eheheh, have fun!

- 1st Playthrough - not great...
Mode ENEMY TERRITORY (start from Wave 12 + extra rewards)


- 2nd Playthrough - my Best run so far!
Mode ENEMY TERRITORY (start from Wave 12 + extra rewards)



As you can see in both cases I really died in a silly way, in the 2nd game I couldn't figure out how to use the new turret mod I unlocked lol and I died just after upgrading in a stupid way...remember to be always careful and focused LOL

Those two are also my first videos ever uploaded on my newly created 3speak channel! 😎





I hope you enjoyed the review and want to try the game! 😜
You won't be disappointed!

Thanks for checking out!

🔥 💯 GG Everyone 💯🔥





All screenshots and videos are original content taken by myself! Also I just wanted to say that I am not a pro gamer or expert in any way and if there is something wrong and you feel that it should be corrected please let me know! Thanks. Peace! 😎

trippymanelogo.png

And because the game is about SPACE and few days ago I went crazy with space nebulas and space effects on Photoshop I will add an extra Galactic Signature!

Peace everyone 😎

@tripppymane out!

asdadas.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency