Toasts for breakfast

"Breakfast is the most important meal of the day,
you should not skip it."

I get that a lot growing up. I never worry on what to eat for breakfast or what time should I wake up to prepare one for myself since I lived with my mom, but that was years ago. Being caught up on a busy schedule robs me of the opportunity make my own breakfast or should I say luxury of time to go slow and just enjoy the new morning. I've been struggling keeping up with those days that I'd have to settle for breakfast meals bought from fast food places or to just skip it. Even though I wanted to make this year the time I reset my lifestyle when it comes to taking good care of myself, early this year I was caught up again with the load of tasks I have to deliver. Most mornings would just be drinking my poorly made pour over coffee in front of my computer, laboring on my unfinished tasks from last night. That's when I realized that it takes a great deal of effort to take good care of oneself, constantly.

After those long days of working on my deliverables, finally, I was able to set aside a few minutes of my mornings to whip something in the kitchen. Yes! I was so wrong, it only took me a few minutes to make a healthy meal, that didn't take forever as I thought it would. I always love eating bread and eggs for breakfast, even though I am from the Philippines, it's light to eat and easy to make.


IMG_2334.jpg

Here's the first breakfast meal I made this year, I'm not sure what to call these but what I really wanted to make was an open toast. I got a little oven to satisfy my sudden cravings of sweets here in my apartment so I made use of the cupcake molder to bake the toasts in one go. I love how this meal can be of anything, I could just throw in some diced mushrooms, bell peppers, and herbs and it will still look completely fine. Since this was out of the blue, all I had that morning was eggs, bread, cheese, bacon, and tomatoes. These look so little but I was full 'til dinner time.

IMG_2367.jpg


IMG_2356.jpg

When weekend came, I made french toast, bacon, and scrambled eggs for breakfast. This was much easier than the breakfast cups I made during the weekday, nonetheless, I enjoyed my time making this one. Taking a little or a length of my time to cook reminded me that amidst deadlines, I have a life out of work. With that, I am back again to this platform. I miss writing posts like this! :) Hope you're having a great time too, wherever you are.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency