Citizen Science Project Step 2: my top quark production simulation

@lemouth invited us in citizen science adventure on Hive:

@lemouth/towards-a-citizen-science-particle-physics-research-project-on-hive


Pour les lecteurs en français, la version française du post d'introduction est ici:
@lemouth/un-projet-de-sciences-citoyennes-sur-hive
Mon présent post est en anglais mais facile à comprendre, au pire google traduction devrait s'en sortir...


titre.step2.jpg


The first phase consisted in installing the necessary tools in a Linux environment and testing them. You can see the procedure here:

@lemouth/citizen-science-particle-physics-project-on-hive-let-s-get-started

My post on the report of this first step is here:

@servelle/citizen-science-project-my-first-run


For the second step which I report here, I invite you to read the post explaining the different tasks to accomplish, I will show for my part their realization.

@lemouth/citizen-science-on-hive-simulating-top-quark-production-at-cern-s-large-hadron-collider


FIRST TASK:

I launched my Ubuntu linux environment under VirtualBox and navigated to the "MG5_aMC_v2_9_9" folder where I opened a terminal.
Then I typed in the terminal "./bin/mg5_aMC" to launch the MG5aMC tool.

step2.1.jpg

Then I ran the command "generate p p > t t~"

step2.2.jpg

And to finish this first task I entered the command "display diagrams" which generated this:

step2.3.jpg


SECOND TASK

In the terminal I entered the command "output step2", step2 being the name I chose, you will choose yours.

step2.4.jpg

The following files have been created:

step2.5.jpg


THIRD TASK

In the MG5aMC software I enter the command "launch step2" (you have to replace step2 by the name you have chosen) and I arrive at a menu, you will have to type 1 then enter and 4 then enter to get this result:

step2.6.jpg

Then I hit enter to get to another menu:

step2.62.jpg

Here we enter the choice 2 then enter to edit the configuration file and change in the line 129 "True" in "False", I had some difficulties with the editor but I succeeded.

step2.7.jpg

Then the simulation starts when you press the enter key:

step2.8.jpg


FOURTH TASK

Here we check that everything has gone well:

step2.9.jpg

And by going into my folder
"cd step2/Events/run_01_decayed_1"
and entering the command
"ls -lrt"
I check that a big file named "tag_1_pythia8_events.hepmc.gz" has been created.

step2.10.jpg


We are done for this step of the citizen science adventure on Hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency