Lemon and Poppy Seed Cake [Sugar Free] 🍋🍋🍋

I've recently realised another pet hate, apart from badgers in spectacles and guessing games. It's reading people's life stories before they get to the recipe. Ugh. Scrolly scrolly scroll scroll.

So all I'm going to say is: I made cake, and it was nice. It's not too sweet, which suits the loaf style - but definitely sweet enough for me.

Oh, and I dehydrated a heap of limes because - pretty. I wouldn't really EAT them, though they're edible - they're pretty mouth puckering - but they look so good as a cake decoration, don't you agree?

image.png

Lemon and Poppy Seed Loaf Cake

1.5 cups self raising flourr
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
Zest of two small limes
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup greek yoghurt

Mix all ingredients together and pour into a lined loaf tin. Bake at 180 degrees for about 40 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

image.png

Sugar Free Lemon Frosting

1/4 cup greek yoghurt
1/4 cup cream cheese
1/4 cup honey
6 tbsps coconut milk powder
Zest of 1 small lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix, adding more coconut milk powder if needed. You can also just grind some dessicated coconut. It should end up like thick cream. Delish! Alternatively, just mix some yoghurt with a bit of lemon zest and chuck on the cake - so good! I like to put sprinkles of calendula on pretty much anything - @anttn, told you I do this!

image.png

As is usual when I bake, my husband had a pleasant suprise to come home to such a treat with a cup of tea. Wife skills, 10/10.

Cake wasn't bad either.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency