Make-up is a no for me

It's another time to put on my thinking cap. Thanks to @kenechukwu97 for yet another opportunity to share lovely thoughts with other writers. It took me time to think of that one thing I will not do, even when I have it all. When all the resources were available and I lacked nothing, I took my time to look around my life and see what I would still not do.

I took time to examine my environment to see things that are in vogue that I don't participate in, not because I don't have what it takes but just because they're not part of my thing, like my way of life. I did a study survey, and I noticed that more than fifty percent of those I meet daily wear make-up. To some, it is part of their dressing, while others use it to cover one thing or another on their faces.

Image source

For some, they need to use makeup to beautify themselves more, and I understand that this is where our world has developed. I was once dealing with an inferiority complex. I had this feeling that I was not beautiful enough. Some of my peers do get complimented for their beauty, while I don't. This does get to me, and sometimes I feel weighed down. Gradually, an inferiority complex set in, and I began to feel less of myself.

There are times I want to change my skin color just to feel better, and there are times I want to adopt a skincare routine, stressing myself unnecessarily to apply makeup. Then my mother came to my rescue and explained things I should know. Then I got to appreciate myself more and accept myself for who I am.

This serves as a spirit lifter for me, and I began to see myself without trying to change who I am to be beautiful to get compliments. Since then, I stopped every form of makeup treatment and let the natural me take over. Even during my birthdays, when I'm expected to dress gorgeously and beautify myself in every way to look good for the day, I still choose to be natural. This was because I finally accepted myself for who I am and saw the beauty in me, which is beyond artificial.

Accepting yourself just the way you are is the most important thing. I met a woman three years ago, and for more than a year we lived together as neighbors. I never saw her natural face. She is always with makeup on; I couldn't bring myself to ask her why, but it does longer stay in my mind every day, bringing me to ask myself the reasons behind her makeup every day.

In response to the prompt, one thing I will not do, even when I have it all, is apply makeup to look beautiful. It's something I quit doing a long time ago, and I haven't seen a reason to renege on my decision.

Thanks for your time, and your comments will be appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency