This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Lab coats and universities

It was my first day of lecture in the university.

I was alone.

Being in your first year in a Nigerian university, if compared to a football match, life is already leading you 1-0.

There are people whose business in the university last only during the first semester. After that, nothing is heard of them till the next session's first semester.

I had already been prepped by friends in higher levels than I, before I resumed. So, I believed I couldn't fall for any scam or sham.

We all sat in class that day, tired of waiting for a lecturer who refused to show up 40mins into the initial time for class.

I was tired and hungry but I dared not leave the class just in case the lecturer comes in and orders them to lock the door. Besides, only about 10% of everyone left. We were still so much that were around so I had no reason to think of going.

Then, a man walked in, brimming with confidence. A bag slung over his shoulder, a microphone in one hand. i wasn't happy because that meant that for the next one hour, I would have to sit in this hot, un-air-conditioned classroom. But at the same time, I was happy that my first day was not in vain.

'My dear students, I know this is your first time in a university like this. And you need someone to guide you. That is what I am here for.' He said and we all listened attentively.

'The university is a place for the strong. You have to be strong here.' He kept on talking in circles till he decided it was time he told us his aim.

This man began telling us how the government was very cruel to students. How they didn't provide the necessary materials for students at the right time.

All this was to sell lab coats.

It turned out he was trying to tell us that the labcoats we paid for, to the school wasn't going to be given to us even after we finished practicals.

What do you mean we won't be given lab coats till after practicals and without a lab coat we can't enter the lab?

That was the question on my mind and I think that of my fellow students because soon enough, people started heying and neighing from corners of the hall. Soon, white labcoats were being distributed to people all around me.

Of course, a lot of people would buy. Nobody wanted to trade their practicals for a labcoat of 3000 naira.

The girl beside me bought. Opening it, it didn't have a school badge on it. I thought it risky that he sold a labcoat without a badge, so I decided to wait for some time before buying.

Practicals weren't anytime soon so I still had ample time to think about it.

Lo and behold, few days after, the school brought the customized lab coats. The ones we already paid for with our school fees. We just had to go collect it.

Those that bought were lamenting because the coats were literally useless. In the school, you aren't allowed to wear any labcoats that didn't have the school badge. You weren't even allowed to step into the practical hall with it.

I felt for those students that spent their money buying it but at the same time, I was grateful for my own self not spending a dime on something like that.

I escaped that scam.

Last session, first semester, I still saw him advertising to the new students. 'Labcoats for sale'.

And guess what, so many of them are patronizing him😂

Image above was created using meta.ai

Logo
Center