Coffee is indeed a hug in a mug

This is still my second post for the week(I usually post daily or at least every other day) because we were so swamped with office work and I am just so exhausted. This week is also just the "lucky" week of the month for me as a woman because it happens to be uh-huh you're right, it's my "R-E-D" week (mine lasts for a week so it's red week literally). Most women crave for chocolates, milk tea or anything sweet. And I'm just like any other women, I look for ways to comfort myself during these times of the month. But instead of chocolates, I drink coffee, iced coffee.

I have always been a coffee lover since elementary - that's a fact. I first had my black coffee when I was in fourth grade and since then I really can't get my taste out of it. I grew a sincere and deep love with coffee and have tried various of brewing methods, bean varieties, and even tried DIY coffee ideas that were not that terrible (most of them were made out of curiosity). And for today since I'm in desperate need of caffeine to soothe my irritated hormones, I decided to make myself a DIY iced coffee using a DIY drip method. DIY because our coffee machine in the office is currently broken. I am actually a little disappointed because I like how coffee machines make just the perfect coffee I need for the day. But because of my deep love for coffee I found a way to still make coffee. I hope you'll enjoy my today's coffee story.


C13F2B19-56D0-469D-99B7-2838BB459011.jpeg


I woke up today with a terrible cramps. It was 6 o'clock as shown on the homescreen of my phone. With eyes half closed, I managed to turn off the alarm and slept for five minutes more. I'm really not feeling myself today but I have to work or else I'll be drowned with work the next day. So to wake myself up, I took a cold shower - a long cold shower. Hormones are playing jokes on me as I am feeling a bit down today. I took a bath for almost an hour. And just when I finished taking a bath, my baby was already wide awake. She ran towards me and hugged me which by the way she always does every time she wakes up. Right after I got dressed, I went to the kitchen to fix some breakfast. My baby had pancakes while I just sipped a warm milk. I really have no appetite during this time of the day. My stomach tells my brain that it's not ready to battle with any food yet. After breakfast, my daughter's babysitter arrived. It was already fifteen minutes before 8 o'clock. I then stormed away as I needed to be early in the office today to book the free swab testing for our workers at the site.

When I arrived in the office, I turned on the AC, pulled out my logbook, and turned on my PC. Shortly after, my officemate who is also my best friend arrived. We both need to accomplish a lot today - liquidation, estimates, booking of swab testing, updating of site monitorings, and answering of all incoming calls.

949109BC-F6FA-490E-95B7-AB0C2A271C41.jpeg

Lunch came fast and I had to rush back to the condo to make sure my baby and her babysitter have food to eat. Since I didn't have much time to prepare lunch, I just bought chicken adobo from the site's canteen. I headed back to the office without eating anything because I was really planning to finish my share of office work as early as possible. Why? Because I want to not spare a minute or two thinking of how my uterus squeezing my muscles and blood out. But exactly at 1 in the afternoon, just when the lunch time is over, I heard a rumbling noise coming from my dear stomach. I am indeed starving! So I grabbed some bread and decided to make myself a glass of iced coffee.

As I said earlier, our coffee machine is broken. But it didn't stop me from making the drink I was craving for. So this is what I did.

I took a large glass from the office pantry, placed the filter in, and secured it with a scotch tape. I also, by the way, boiled some water using an electric kettle.

33C80EF3-685B-450E-9D4D-CA3893B260E8.jpeg

I then poured about two tablespoon of ground coffee in the filter.

848618DA-6507-4BD3-91AB-507C06E53FB7.jpeg

Then slowly poured the water. I really wish I can buy a new drip coffee or pour over coffee set. But for now, I'm fine with this though.

C35AE1A4-6505-4BC1-9C8D-83E87A212192.jpeg

In a smaller glass, I poured in some milk powder. And set it aside for a few minutes to cool down.

07EFBB68-4D77-4050-8E91-1B37E4FDB889.jpeg

After a few minutes, I filled the large glass with ice. Then poured in the coffee and milk mixture from earlier.

D61E3466-2764-46B1-9108-A91C1DCEEEA5.jpeg

Lastly, I poured another batch of coffee but this time it's a bit more concentrated mixture. And ta-daaa! my DIY iced coffee!

352E4F2A-407A-4884-87A0-3C8EDADB25F8.jpeg

After enjoying my iced coffee, I went straight back to work which we finished just before 5 so yeah I had the time to write this blog. I drafted this at around 4:40 PM at my office desk. You know what, I think I'm a bit chatty for someone who's suffering from menstrual pain. Hahaha Anyway, all I can say is that coffee is indeed a hug in a mug or in a glass in my case (for today).

602B8B9E-E6FD-41FB-AD3F-FC8DE07E8F5A.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed my coffee story today. 'Til next time hivers!


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency