My New Year´s Eve Canapés

Dear Foodies Bee Hive Friends!

Happy New Year!

Hope everyone´s fine and doing good as far as the Pandemic is concerned. We celebrated New Year´s Eve and I prepared canapés as finger food to survive during the Midnight waiting. We are on our 3rd Lockdown, I took the chance to buy what I need for the celebration last Tuesday because I knew people who were working would surely be jumping into the supermarket to buy their food in the last minute on the Eve of New Year.

IMG_20201231_162933 b.jpg

Stocking bread...

So for the New Year´s Eve, I took the Baguettes out of the freezer and thawed them in the morning. I got them last week from the discounter Lidl Supermarket. They are the ones that sells the French style Baguette at a reasonable price. They sell their Baguette fresh from the oven at around 0.69 EUR and to note, they always taste excellent. Freezing bread is always handy, just take out 2 hours before consuming.

a.jpg

We also stock ham , if we see offers, we always take a few packs and freeze them. The same with meat and other frozen ingredients. It is good to stock a few Frozen vegetables too, particularly in winter when the farmers could not cultivate their crops/farmland.

a1.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

For the egg spread, I simply boiled the eggs, took them out of shell and pressed them coarsely, then I added minced onions, creme fraiche (or sour cream). For 5 eggs, I added 3 tablespoon cream fraiche or sour cream , one medium minced red onion, salt and pepper. The egg spread shown here had more sour cream, but I gave it in the strainer to drip off a bit...With the cream fraiche, it is a bit drier.

d.jpg

So, going back to the canapés, I first cut the ham, cheese, sausages, prepared the onion rings as well as tomatoes and the egg spread I made while listening to the tunes of Eric Clapton, Jason Mraz and Colby Caillat.

e.jpg

I used butter to spread onto the bread, followed by different ingredients stacking them one after each other. I also used a dab of mayonnaise and mustard so that the ham or cheese would stay in place.

f.jpg

At any rate, the canapés were done just about 5:00 PM. I have prepared about 24 canapés but ate only 3 pieces for dinner since I had been tasting a couple of these while topping the bread alternately with the ingredients.

h.jpg

g.jpg

You can make these canapés at any event and you are done in a short period of time without cooking...

i.jpg

Stay healthy and be blessed!

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency