My Hive Story... What's Yours?

hive story.png

Learning how people end up here is fascinating in itself but also important if we are going to grow the community.

We are still a small corner of the web and the crypto space, so getting to know each other, and what motivates people to participate is always going to be cool.

I saw this post that @snook and @whatsup started so I thought it would be cool to post here as a casual weekend community catchup.

Maybe you can share your story and keep the chain going?

1. How long have you been on the Blockchain?

I started out on Steem (Aug 30, 2017) and moved after all the "stuff" happened.

2. What was your background in cryptocurrency when you first came to the Blockchain?

While I was interested in crypto for years, and suspect I have a bitcoin on a hard drive long lost, my initial response to this kind of thing was skepticism. You know what they say about things that seem too good to be true.

3. What was your background in writing when you first came to the Blockchain?

I have been blogging since before it was called blogging. I wrote a traditionally published book about making money from blogging. This ... seemed too easy!

4. How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?

Just @themarkymark and now I have made a few contacts but I don't think any that "know" me. That said, turns out @dragosroua hangs out here and he was someone I met online before my Steem days.

5. How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?

Marky I already knew, he introduced me. After that, I just comment and reply. Mostly I seek out people with similar interests; making, D&D/Warhammer/etc, programming, and so on.

6. Who did you look up to when you first came to the Blockchain?

Marky again. My attempts to get him to adopt me have mostly failed but he has been very, very generous, and I appreciate that completely.

He won't convince me that I need a digital punk, but otherwise, I listen to everything he says. Wise dude that one.

Then I guess it would be whales in general. I know a great deal of them have invested fiat to get where they are or have businesses that generate liquid Hive, but still, that level is something to aspire to.

7. How would you describe your first three months on the Blockchain?

Learning curve, and I am still learning. Very few of us have this thing figured out, and I am naturally anxious, full of self-doubt, and easily distracted, so you can guess the rest.

8. Has being a part of the Blockchain changed you in any way for the good?

The funny, underappreciated thing about this particular blockchain I think most people overlook is the good habits it forms.

Simple, daily, incremental progress.

Crypto can cause a lot of gambling-like behavior but blogging here, earning small amounts, being social, I think that trains us to be patient in a good way. It's like the marshmallow test.

9. What is your favorite memory from your time on the Blockchain?

I have a few, which are probably stories for another day, but my favorite has to be when Marky was teaching me about how to code for the API and helping me set up my Linux server. When my scripts were running and I could see the results, that was amazing.

10. If you could advise a new person signing up to Hive, what would it be?

This is something I do quite a bit but nobody really has taken me up so far.

Goes back to the skepticism I mentioned before. There's a lot here that reduces trust, and also there isn't a very good onboarding process.

  • My advice is to get a buddy - a mentor, coach, someone who will encourage you.

  • Be patient because it is going to take years of continuous effort.

  • It's not like winning the lottery. Don't believe the people who say they bought a Tesla with Hive. Unless you have a lot of money already, or all of your expenses are taken care of, that is very, very unlikely, and unless Hive suddenly gets parity with BTC, certainly not possible by sticking to the rules and posting once per day.

  • Make friends and treat people with kindness, but also call out spam and scams when you see them because we need Hive to build a positive brand and not be seen as a bad neighborhood.

Over to you!

What is your Hive story?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency