The GHAWG Diaries, Part 24


The GHAWG Diaries, Part 24

What's happening behind the scenes to bring new GHAWG content? The GHAWG Diaries is my recap of what I've been doing.



Base image came in another form from PublicDomainPictures.Net. Edits made using MS Paint.


Introduction

There's more to #GHAWG than just daily zapfic entries and the spreadsheet I use to track them. There's research. There's review. There's also thought and inspiration. Then there are the tools involved in doing any of those tasks.

Just to keep things from getting scrambled in my head, and also to document for myself what I've been considering, I began keeping a diary of my activities as they concern #GHAWG. With posts in the GHAWG, Uninterrupted series on hold at Interlude 3 while Act 7 remains in progress, I decided to share these diary entries with everyone on Hive blockchain.

On Mondays which don't feature a GHAWG, Uninterrupted post-- GHAWG-U-- I'll post diary entries from the previous 7 days or between GHAWG-U posts if the time between them is short. For Part 24, there are 7 days' worth of diary entries. The first entry starts on 2024-April-08.


Before anyone scratches their heads at a few terms, here are 3 I began using many posts ago:

TermMeaning
Rat BikeCode name for #GHAWG (the first and current zapfic serial)
Blue LionCode name for the middle zapfic serial in the GHAWG Universe
The BronzeCode name for the final zapfic serial in the GHAWG Universe



Monday, 2024-April-08

📓 Today I added a few entries to the zapfic queue for the purposes of filling in some gaps which will make the story make sense later. With Felix Legion being a smaller version of Our Heroes which rode from STURGIS to San Diego, California, US, there is greater risk of "unpleasantness" taking place. This is even before getting into the subplot featuring discord between Lindsay Etxeberria and Sanjay Rampersad.

So I wrote a few zapfic entries showing the evolution of Sanjay and Lionel Odunsi's fighting skills from the moment they joined David Guardia on his Epic Ride along with Rhonda Bella until they left STURGIS. The Kids go from (in Rhonda's words) "old ladies slap-fighting" to earning respect from 2 of The Mongols who fought with them. The Brothers Marchenko also provided The Kids valuable fighting skills, under supervision from David and Rhonda.

I also included a couple of zapfic entries which called back to a scene where Manny Rey scared off 3 potential attackers simply by squeezing a glass bottle until it broke. Here, David squeezes a thicker glass bottle, one of Jack Daniels' whiskey. Lindsay witnessed the scene from outside. This took the zapfic queue through 2024-April-27.


Tuesday, 2024-April-09

📓 The zapfic entries featuring David Guardia's callback to Manny Rey seemed incomplete, so I added 2 more. This brings the zapfic queue to 2024-April-29. It's David explaining to Lindsay Etxeberria who Manny Rey was and the influence he had on him, in more ways than one. For all David knew, he was just some guy when he left New Jersey. Little did he know that he was getting the final touches for the mission he would undertake after his miraculous recovery from that near-fatal explosion in Le Claire, Iowa, US. This sequence of entries takes place an entry or two before David speaks in tongues to the homeless people at Venice Beach hearing his words of hope. As a bonus for me, this sequence of gap-filling zapfic entries shows how Lindsay's opinion of David softens and becomes more favorable.


Wednesday, 2024-April-10

📓 The timeline I had established for the events noted in GHAWG can be found in TGD Part 8. The period covered goes from the start of GHAWG (when it was only GHAWG) to August 2028 (when it was still only GHAWG and not Rat Bike from The GHAWG Universe).

As I mentioned in TGD Part 8, my next step is to determine the timeline for the start of David's Epic Ride from Bayonne, New Jersey, US to his arrival at STURGIS. After that, to be determined is the timeline of the ride from STURGIS to Portland, Oregon, US. This is where David Guardia completes his mission of riding slowly through the town at night. It's also when we meet Lindsay Etxeberria more formally; when they first met in Iowa, she was a nearly-dead heap of flesh left on the side of the road discovered by both David and Rhonda Bella.

How important is it for me to use STURGIS as Time 0 (T0) for GHAWG? It has the same level of importantance as the Battle of Yavin has in the Star Wars Universe: there, events are dated BY (Before Yavin) and AY (After Yavin). For GHAWG, there will be 3 divisions of time: BER (Before Epic Ride), ER (Epic Ride), and AER (After Epic Ride). Why not Before STURGIS and After STURGIS? After STURGIS would be AS, but Before STURGIS would be BS, and that doesn't look good.


Thursday, 2024-April-11

📓 Today I determined the timeline of David Guardia's Epic Ride-- not just his ride from Bayonne, New Jersey, US to STURGIS, but the ride he's been taking after leaving STURGIS. This is why his ride to STURGIS had been transformed into his Epic Ride.

The pre-STURGIS dates of his Epic Ride need to be confirmed since there are a few entries whose dates I'm not sure about. Even so, David had been on the road for at least 26 days before reaching STURGIS.

For the post-STURGIS dates, they still need to be confirmed, although they were easier to determine.

With GHAWG-- that is, the 1st zapfic serial Rat Bike-- that means David's Epic Ride is currently at Day 81. Many days use one to three zapfic entries, but some days require many zapfic entries. Not surprisingly, many of these days take place after Lindsay Etxeberria joins Our Heroes. Prior to reaching STURGIS, these days were used for flashback sequences at the time of the near-fatal explosion in Le Claire, Iowa, US and during the 10-day recovery period from his coma.


Friday, 2024-April-12

📓 GHAWGnav was last updated in March 2024, so I brought this navigational tool for The GHAWG Universe up to date through 2024-April-12.

📓 Tomorrow the Weekly Summary posts return to their weekly schedule (once every 7 days, on Saturdays). At the moment, 406 zapfic entries have been covered. Tomorrow's post brings it to 421 zapfic entries.


Saturday, 2024-April-13

📓 With 14 zapfic entries left, I decided to make today's post one which included them all so that I could get back to the intended weekly schedule for the Weekly Summary posts. I didn't have much time for on-chain activities, so it took me longer than I had anticipated to get the post published. So actual publishing time will be Sunday during the wee hours. Even though the zapfic serial itself it at a stand-still, it's been a productive week for GHAWG in other ways:

  • I finished a first-pass through my spreadsheet in order to complete a timeline of events from the story's present back to the beginning;
  • GHAWGnav was updated through Thursday 2024-April-12;
  • Work began on the basis for Blue Lion, where at least the first one-third will be a series of vignettes showing what happened between the end of Rat Bike and when we pick up David Guardia living the good life. This will be done by alternating between sentences from a public speaking monologue he gives and actual deeds (not necessarily related to his speech);
  • Rather than pick up where Blue Lion leaves off, I decided that The Bronze will jump ahead several years. Blue Lion itself will include the set up for The Bronze;
  • After some thought and consideration, I decided to make my Web 2.0 footprint via Substack; more on that tomorrow.


Sunday, 2024-April-14

📓 It won't be any time soon, but Substack is where I want to introduce The GHAWG Universe to a wider audience. What I offer for free and what I offer to paid subscribers is still something I need to figure out. I'm thinking that I can offer repackaged zapfic for free with a bit of commentary but keep the long form version of the story for paid subscribers. If paid subscribers want to read the long form version of the content, they can always sign up for a Hive account. Good move, bad move? I don't know.

Why Substack and not Medium? I know with Substack my content is my own and not Substack's (but I should still review the legal fine print to be certain). Hive blockchain is where I will debut all new content for copyright and documentation purposes. It's possible I could use Medium, but how can I use it in a way which complements work on Substack? I don't know that, either.

📓 While adding backlinks to this weeks' edition of TGD, the light bulb went off in my head: one of the homeless people at Venice Beach who had heard David Guardia speaking in tongues meets him years later in Blue Lion to work for him. This is meant to show the impact his words of hope had on the homeless there that day (calculated at this time to be 2028-September-08). It's also meant to introduce a character (whose name is TBD) who will play a part in The Bronze.



When (and Where) To Catch #GHAWG

When

This is the normal schedule for the posting of content for #GHAWG:
● Daily -- Each zapfic entry is posted shortly after midnight, from New York
● Weekends -- Weekly Summaries (with modified screen capture from LeoThreads as cover image) are usually on Saturday, sometimes Sunday
● Monday -- Either GHAWG, Uninterrupted if present, or The GHAWG Diaries
● Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday -- GHAWG Behind the Scenes -- The goal is to publish these posts on all days not dedicated to the Weekly Sumamry, GHAWH-U, or The GHAWG Diaries (TGD). There may be days with no post, so I'll minimize those occasions as best as I can.

(Synchronization of Weekly Summary posts with zapfic entries is done. Weekly Summary posts will resume the Saturday schedule starting 2024-April-13.)

Where

● Daily zapfic entries drop at LeoThreads, usually posted shortly after midnight from New York (sometimes around noon)
● All long form posts-- Weekly Summaries, GHAWG-U, and TGD-- can be accessed using the #GHAWGnav sticky post or from my LeoFinance profile page


That's it for this edition of The GHAWG Diaries. I'm @magnacarta (graphic-signature made by @ahmadmanga)[!!]
Thanks for your time. Give the post an upvote or a reblog if you liked it. Feedback is welcome. Until next time!


[!!] -- Graphic signature was designed by @ahmadmanga

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency