GHAWG, Uninterrupted: Act 3


GHAWG, Uninterrupted: The First Daily Zapfic Serial Published at LeoThreads

This post features Act 3-- uninterrupted, no comments-- of the daily zapfic serial #GHAWG published at LeoThreads.



Post images made using MS Paint.



TL;DR

  • About #GHAWG
  • Previously, in Interlude 1
  • Act 3
    • Zapfic entries from [84] 2023-May-31 through [115] 2023-July-1
  • Quick Summary of Act 3
  • Navigation to Other Acts in #GHAWG
  • When (and Where) To Catch #GHAWG



About #GHAWG

Below is the description taken from the first annotated weekly summary covering #GHAWG:

#GHAWG is short for "God's Hog: A Watchful Guardian." This fictional story tells how David Guardia, a courier and business owner from Bayonne, New Jersey, US moved into the next phase of his life after spending the final ten years of his ailing father's life helping him.

(Hyperlinks in original)

2 months after I began publishing the daily zapfic serial, I decided to publish a weekly summary which also included commentary relevant to each zapfic entry.

The weekly summaries add depth to #GHAWG. However, they are capped at 7 entries (with perhaps a few bonus entries). With the serial entering its 6th month, it can take a while to get caught up even with the delayed weekly summaries.

Recently it occurred to me that some people would prefer to read the zapfic uninterrupted; that is, with no commentary, just the text. For this reason I will publish on a recurring basis a post containing all the zapfic entries associated with one Act (or Interlude) of the daily zapfic serial.

Eventually, these Uninterrupted posts will catch up with the daily zapfic serial. At that point, these Uninterrupted posts will be published at the end of each Act (or Interlude) as needed.

For anyone interested in commentary, start with the post featuring zapfic entries 1 through 7 along with the introduction.



Previously, in Interlude 1

A fuel tanker exploded near David Guardia just as he and the uncanny Manny Rey cross into Iowa from Illinois. Even after accounting for a cross-current which causes David to change course, the violently powerful blast throws him 100 feet away. While in mid-air his life flashes through his eyes. Most events took place in recent years (as covered in #GHAWG), but a few others took place a long time prior.

David Guardia arrives at the hospital with broken arms, broken legs, and a punctured lung. After being placed under sedation he enters a coma. During his coma he finds himself reviewing his ride from Bayonne to Iowa from another perspective, one which shows other forces at play.

After this review he finds himself talking with Manny Rey, only it's The Lord taking the form of Manny Rey. Part of their conversation concerns David Guardia's new role in life: prophet. Once he understands that he has what he needs to fulfill this new role, he comes out of his coma.


GHAWG Uninterrupted: Act 3-- Zapfic Entries 84 through 115

Act 3

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 84. 2023-May-31 00:14:12
"What just happened here?" I asked the people around me.

"You just came out of a coma."

"Coma? I thought I just got very good dope." A couple of nurses chuckled.

"It was a good 5 hours."

"5 hours? Your coma lasted 10 days."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 85. 2023-June-01 00:50:39
"10 days?" I asked.

"Do you remember what happened?" asked a doctor.

"That explosion took out my Harley."

"You need time for physical therapy."

"I'm 100% now, so when do I check out?" I said as a pale green tint faded away.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 86. 2023-June-02 00:05:24
"You can't check out yet," another doctor insisted.

"You're right. You need to take x-rays first. Then I can check out."

The docs talked among themselves before deciding to take those x-rays. What the doctors saw was shocking.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 87. 2023-June-03 00:53:48
Word of my x-ray results spread all over the hospital. As I was being moved to a regular room there was a mob of people trying to see me, including news media. And who did I see trying to interview me? Geraldo Rivera himself.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 88. 2023-June-04 00:17:27
"I thought you lived in Cleveland," I said to Rivera. "What brings you to Iowa?"

"Someone captured the explosion on video. You went viral."

He showed me the video: I was somersaulting one way, then came a perpendicular force.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 89. 2023-June-05 00:21:54
"As bad as the toss was for you, the change in flight path saved your life."

"This is news to me," I tell Rivera.

"You were in a coma; what did you see?"

"I relived my ride so far to Sturgis, only I saw other forces at play."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 90. 2023-June-06 00:14:30
I explained to Geraldo what influences acted on events taking place, including how he knocked down my Harley. Then I explained the conversation I had with The Lord. It was like a parent convincing a child to do the right thing.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 91. 2023-June-07 00:01:57
"So what'll you do now? What's your next step?"

"I have promises to keep / And miles to go before I sleep / And miles to go before I sleep."

Geraldo blinked.

"I'm a courier delivering messages. Only now I have a new boss."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 92. 2023-June-08 00:11:09
"What's the message?" Geraldo asked.

"Stay tuned," I answered with a wink

"That's it, patient needs to move!" shouted a nurse. As I was being moved another patient touched me, then an electric sensation rushed through me.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 93. 2023-June-09 00:12:42
I looked around, and I saw the patient who had touched me. He was an older gentleman bound to a wheelchair. Only this time, he was on his feet gently dancing The Twist. We looked at each other, and he gave me two thumbs up. 👍👍

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 94. 2023-June-10 12:22:27
The casts came off, and I washed up. My clothes from that life-changing night were singed from the explosion. Also intact was the envelope Manny Rey handed me to deliver to Harry Hoqualogue. What it says, I don't need to know.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 95. 2023-June-11 00:04:45
Back in my attire, including thick safety-yellow vest, I went to check out. After paying my hospital bill, I was handed a message to go to the given address in Davenport. A few minutes after receiving the message, I took a taxi.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 96. 2023-June-12 10:27:06
The taxi driver took me to a Harley-Davidson dealership. Reserved for me was black trike with orange and white accents. With the trike was this message:

¦ Enjoy your new Big Wheel
¦
¦ -- Jacob Angel

I was touched by this gift.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 97. 2023-June-13 00:13:30
Once I got my bearings, I found a bar where I could have a bottle of Magner's hard cider. As I was nursing the Magner's I heard a familiar song, only the voice was feminine. "Her version is better than Sinatra's," said a woman.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 98. 2023-June-14 00:29:12
"Now I'm a believer," I said as I turned toward her. To my surprise, she's the very tall redhead I had seen at the bar in Defiance, Ohio.

"It was a shame you couldn't hear the song back there."

"It was a shame I got slugged."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 99. 2023-June-15 00:50:42
Before I could ask, the woman said this version of Fly Me to the Moon is sung by Claire Littley.

"I'll look out for her music."

"I'm Rhonda Bella."

"David Guardia."

After introductions, we learned a bit about each other.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 100. 2023-June-16 00:12:15
Rhonda was an independent trucker. She had made a delivery to Defiance the day I noticed her. She heard about my ride to Sturgis and wanted to join me. I didn't mind a companion, even if I felt like George Costanza next to her.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 101. 2023-June-17 00:04:21
After our conversation, we went outside. She was impressed with the "Big Wheel" Jacob Angel gifted me. As I noticed her Victory, this thought flashed:

Your co-pilot will find you. I will be with you. You'll both be victorious.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 102. 2023-June-18 00:09:42
"Thanks for being my riding companion to Sturgis," I said to Rhonda; she smiled. Next came the $64,000 Question:

"You know about my hospital experience. I need a co-pilot."

She answered "I'm all in"; another thought flashed.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 103. 2023-June-19 00:14:54
Rhonda could have said no; that would have been that. Even if she truly wanted to join me, she could have questioned me about my request; she didn't. Instead, she said to me "There's nothing for me home. I can do more in life."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 104. 2023-June-20 00:08:06
I made a hard clap and said "Giddy-up!" We still had plenty of time to reach Sturgis, so we agreed to take Iowa roads. Before that, we took I-80 until it left us on IA-6 near Wilton. We got to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 105. 2023-June-21 00:29:45
We rode IA-6 to Iowa City. When we reached Midway we noticed someone bleeding on the side of the road. A few minutes after we put the soul on my trike a twister hit. We raced to the hospital like bats out of hell. We made it.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 106. 2023-June-22 00:11:39
--"We don't know what happened," Rhonda began to explain to ER staff. "We found this person on the road looking bloody and raw."

"I understand," said the doctor on duty.

"When it's billing time, reach me this way," I said.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 107. 2023-June-23 00:05:18
By the time Rhonda and I reached Cedar Rapids, we picked up some riders. This trip to Sturgis was going to be one for the books, but not for reasons I expected when it began. Our crew was less than a two-day ride from Sturgis.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 108. 2023-June-24 00:08:48
"It would be amazing if we arrived at Sturgis 100-strong," I said to Rhonda.

"Sturgis is just the start of this journey for us."

"Us she said," I thought and smiled . Then we saw two new bikers beating each other to a pulp.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 109. 2023-June-25 00:08:15
Last night a team failed to cover the spread. The guys disagreed on what was owed. I felt moved by The Holy Spirit to put myself between them. I said to them "You had bet on games. The Lord bets on you. When He wins, you win."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 110. 2023-June-26 00:12:33
Rhonda saw me with the brawlers, Hank & Frank.

"Are you OK?"

They saw Rhonda approaching us to stand by me. They were awed by her height and her support of me. Rhonda didn't need to do much more, for which I was very grateful.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 111. 2023-June-27 00:36:33
We reached Waterloo on I380 before we made a beeline toward Sioux City on IA-20. More riders joined us on our excellent adventure. Riders from 18-81 joined us. We even had riders representing places as varied as Nigeria & India.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 112. 2023-June-28 00:02:42
We took a break so we could recharge. I took that opportunity to give this message to our riders:"It's only by God's grace that I'm here with you, and you joined me. More than 2 of us are here in God's name, so He's among us."

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 113. 2023-June-29 00:07:33
From Sioux City, IA we took Interstate 29 north into Dakota Dunes, SD. I-29 was virtually straight until we reached the intersection with I-90 north of Sioux Falls. I-90 would take us directly to Sturgis. Our motley crew grew.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 114. 2023-June-30 00:19:27
Usually South Dakota averages 3 tornadoes in August. We hit one of those 3 days. We found ourselves trying to outrun a tornado. We numbered over 24. We made it into an open garage. When we left, only this garage survived intact.

View thread using LeoThreads ♦ 115. 2023-July-01 00:07:15
We were one day out from Sturgis. We found space where we could have a meal, whatever people had with them or bought. We all gave thanks to The Lord for keeping us safe and for bringing us together. Then we ate and were merry.



Quick Summary of Act 3

David Guardia, motorcycle courier and small business owner, comes out of his 10-day coma as if he had just enjoyed a power nap. During his coma he met The Lord and discovered his mission in life: to be a prophet in a world of prophets, priests, and kings. Fully recovered as a result of this experience, he tries to accelerate his discharage from the hospital. Along the way he discovers that his astounding recovery had gifted him with a few extraordinary extra gifts.

Once out of the hospital, David is directed to a Harley-Davidson dealership in Davenport where he picks up a motorized tricycle left in his name by Jacob Angel, the older gentleman from Cleveland whose "Big Wheel" story he had shared. While at a bar drinking hard cider he encounters someone he hadn't been expecting to see again: Rhonda Bella, the very tall redhead he had first noticed backin Defiance, Ohio. The independent trucker leaves her life behind to join David as his co-pilot.

Shortly after they meet, David and Rhonda rescue an unconscious person close to death on the side of the road and deliver this unknown person to the hospital. A short time later they also encounter two bikers involved in a gambling dispute out of control. After David approaches them, they end up joining him and Rhonda on the ride to STURGIS.

Since his hospital discharge. David had picked up a few riders for his ride to STURGIS. One day out from the big rally in South Dakota, they manage to evade a mysterious tornado which destroyed everything except the garage they used for shelter.

Navigation to Other Acts in GHAWG, Uninterrupted

As later Acts (and Interludes) are published, this section will be updated with links to all other Acts (and Interludes).

When (and Where) To Catch #GHAWG

When

This is the normal schedule for the posting of content for #GHAWG:

  • Daily -- Each zapfic entry is posted shortly after midnight, from New York
  • Weekends -- Weekly Summaries (with modified screen capture from LeoThreads as cover image) are usually on Saturday, sometimes Sunday
  • Monday -- GHAWG, Uninterrupted posts

Where

  • Daily zapfic entries drop at LeoThreads, usually posted shortly after midnight from New York (sometimes around noon)
  • Both kinds of posts-- Weekly Summaries and GHAWG, Uninterrupted-- can be accessed using the #GHAWGnav thread or from my LeoFinance profile page


Thank you for reading #GHAWG, LeoThreads first daily zapfic serial. Until next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency