GHAWG Behind the Scenes: Fun with Maps 14


GHAWG Behind the Scenes: Fun with Maps 14

Today I go behind the scenes to show what I saw while reviewing the digital map of the area near Defiance, Ohio.



Screen captures come from Excel 2007. Minor edits made using MS Paint.

Other images are sourced as noted.


TL;DR

  • Introduction
  • Fun with Maps

    6. Arthur, OH

    5. Continental, OH

    4. New Bavaria, OH

    3. Florida, OH

    2. Napoleon, OH

    1. DEFIANCE, OH
  • More Fun with Maps



Introduction

David Guardia and the uncanny Manny Rey arrive in Defiance, Ohio for a brief layover before they resume their ride to Iowa.


Along the way, he must have been looking at digital (or even paper) maps.

What was he looking at? What caught his eye? What surprises did he find?

While I can't answer those questions for him, I can answer them for myself.


In our physical offline world, the trip to STURGIS would have been shorter and more efficient (not to mention cheaper) had David Guardia used some navigational aid, be it GPS, a Viking Sunstone, or an uncanny co-pilot. It also would have been a much more boring ride for him (and for us as readers).

Maps are a vital part of The GHAWG Universe, both for me as storyteller and for the characters. As much as I want to have scenes take place at certain locations, the ultimate decider is THE MAP: If the location doesn't make sense for the story, then I can't use it for that story. On the other hand, the map may show me a location I hadn't considered before but makes perfect sense both for utility and symbolism.

While reviewing digital maps, there are times I find locations which get me scratching my head and scruff, get me laughing, or even get me wondering "WTF is this??" This post features what I discovered a couple of pages west of Defiance, Ohio.

Fun with Maps

As with earlier editions of Fun With Maps, a few places on the map
… I had known about over the years;
… are better known by their more famous alternatives; and
… I just hadn't expected at all.

David Guardia and co-pilot Manny Rey ride together through the Midwest, so more zapfic entries are taking place as the story unfolds.

The duo arrive at Defiance. Enough interesting names appeared on this section of digital map to qualify for a Fun with Maps post.

Here are the discoveries I made in this section of the ride featuring Defiance, Ohio:



Just to remind myself that this map was part of Ohio, I added the label OHIO. Then I highlighted 6 locations. This map isn't directly tied to any other map, so I added the label Sandusky ▬►► for reference. Here are the 6 locations in reverse order of interest:

6. Arthur, OH

King Arthur; Chester A. Arthur, 21st President of the United States; famous dance instructor Arthur Murray; author Arthur C. Clarke-- Arthur is more widely used as a person's name than as a place name.

At least in the United States, the most famous place name named totally or in part "Arthur" is Port Arthur, Texas along the Gulf of Mexico coast. Arthur, Ohio was named in honor of President Arthur in 1884 when a post office station was opened there.

5. Continental, OH

Continental breakfast; continental Europe; Continental Congress; continental divide; The Continental: From the World of John Wick-- this adjective has been applied to many nouns to form new terms and titles. As a place name (as opposed to a type ofplace)? Not so much.

The village of Continental, Ohio began its existence in 1886-June-15 when it was originally named Maurice City after Mary Rice, daughter of General Rice. It was in 1899 when it was renamed Continental.

4. New Bavaria, OH

Bavaria is the largest state in the Federal Republic of Germany (as well as the predecessor nation of West Germany). Munich, known as an international city which happens to be part of Germany (like Paris, London, Rome, and New York), is the capital of Bavaria.

Founded in 1882, the name New Bavaria reflected the place of origin for many of the Germans who settled this area of Ohio.

3. Florida, OH

In Fun with Maps 13 I discussed Kansas, Ohio. I noted how a state having a place named for another state was enough reason for me to include it in a post. I wasn't expecting to do it two times (never mind twice in two days).

Sure enough, the village of Florida, Ohio is named after the state of Florida.

2. Napoleon, OH

Before this post, I knew about 3 Napoleons:

Established in 1832, the town of Napoleon, Ohio was named after Napoleon Bonaparte, the French Emperor. Napoleon, Ohio is also the county seat of Henry County.

1. DEFIANCE, OH

In the Weekly Summary for zapfic entries 43 through 49 I wrote about my reasons for picking Defiance, Ohio as a rest stop for David Guardia and the uncanny Manny Rey. It reminded me of a science fiction series set in Defiance, which we know today as St. Louis, Missouri, US.

The city of Defiance, Ohio was founded in 1822 at the location of Fort Defiance. The fort itself was built in 1794 by General Anthony Wayne, the namesake of Wayne, Ohio.



More Fun with Maps

The next stop of note after Defiance, Ohio is Sturgis, Indiana Michigan. While there are multiple places named Sturgis, there is only one which most people think about, and that's the one in South Dakota which as the annual motorcycle rally each August. This town I refer to as STURGIS, and David Guardia is 3 states away from that one.

Where else in Ohio will David Guardia find himself? What other notable people will he find there? How does his ride further unfold?

Let's find out together as I continue my research and we have more fun with maps.




As more posts in this series are published, they will be added to the pinned post "GHAWGnav: Navigating The GHAWG Universe". Thanks for taking time to see how this part of The GHAWG Universe is being built.



This is

@magnacarta (graphic signature designed by @ahmadmanga)[!!]

See you next time for another edition of Fun with Maps!

[!!] -- Graphic signature was designed by @ahmadmanga

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency