My Non Failed Soft Chocolate Chip Cookie

Who doesn’t love cookies?

ContentThumbnail.png

I love cookies but American cookies are something else. Where I am from, cookies that we know are basically “biscuits” and just shortbread or sugar cookies. We do have chocolate chip cookies but it’s mostly commercial products, like “ahoy”. American cookies, on the other hand, are another realm to explore. I learned about these cookies about five years ago when I started watching two broke girls and just wanted to try making cupcakes and cookies. Lately in cafes and even all around, new york cookies or even chewy cookies are making their way into the spotlight. People all around the country started to open cookie shops with typical chocolate chip cookie dough but with various flavors.

When I first started baking these cookies, it was terrible. It had a flour taste and it wasn’t evenly spread. I tried the recipe from a cooking blog but that was just a disaster. Fast forward, I baked this cookie again, from scratch. I found the recipe from a youtube channel of preppy kitchen (classic chocolate chip cookies) with some modification that I made due to ingredients inavailability.

Chocolate chip cookies are basic but sometimes we don’t do them well enough. I think even today when I baked these cookies, there were some missed steps and even a wrong temperature of my oven and the butter. So, keep in mind when making chocolate chip cookies, you have to make sure everything is just right.

From that youtube channel, I learned that he was even chilling his dough. When I tried baking with slightly chilled dough, the cookie wasn’t properly spread. Later I learned, my oven temperature was too high and I need to set the dough to room temperature even after chilling it.

So basically all you need to make a good soft chocolate chip cookies are

  • Flour
  • Butter
  • egg
  • Baking soda
  • Brown sugar
  • White sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • Salt
  • Chocolate chips

Salt is really optional but it certainly adds a savory sweet taste into your cookies. Temperature when baking the cookie is also important. You do not want to burn the cookie. So I tried 180C for 20-25 minutes with a traditional oven. If you have a normal electrical oven that’s going to take 15-20 without you having to look at it often.

20221010_150706281.jpg

The steps are basically separating dry and wet ingredients. Start with mixing room temperature butter with brown sugar(this time I was using liquid brown sugar) and white sugar until it is softened and light colored. Add 1 large egg or 2 small eggs then mix it with a mixer.

20221010_152420302.jpg

In a separate bowl, mix flour with baking soda, with vanilla extract and salt to your taste. Then, after the wet ingredients are properly mixed, add the dry ingredients and then prepare your oven. Make sure it’s 180C and preheated. You can use ice cream scoops like I did but you can also use your hands to transfer the dough into the baking sheet.

20221010_164904838.jpg

After 20-25 minutes inside the oven, your cookies are done. Mine has a chocolatey brownie soft cakey texture.In this recipe, My mistake was that my butter was slightly too cold and I didn’t weigh my flour because apparently I added just a few ounces too much from its original recipe. But everyone at home loved it despite the non-visually pleasing shape. I honestly can bake more of these cookies and with more fillings and even other textures since I watched and read, there are many textures and consistencies to try. Just like I said, American chocolate chip cookies are a whole realm to explore.

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me on Buymeberries!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency