Phill from GCHQ - page 72 - Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams - Page 72 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Previous page: Phill from GCHQ - page 71 - Chopping wood

Introduction to this weeks page

In the previous page something happened to Loretta, the 250 pound transsexual woman with a beard. It has been revealed earlier that he has had dreams that the other members of the small pagan society take very serious. It is first time mentioned on page 26.

If you look closely at page 23 you might find the identity of the Welsh corgi with the note around its neck. And yes, I got the idea about the note from Paddington the Bear. I watched one of the newly made films in the weekend with my youngest daughter.

The Aedes Machina Vacua is translatable (hopefully) to the temple of the Machine void. I am not entirely sure this is the right way to write it, but the Roman temple names I have seen is constructed like this: Aedes (or aedis) meaning a building, a house and then in nominative the name of the God. So Aedes Iuppiter means House Jupiter. So far so good. But I was also unsure how to translate machine void, as void can be a noun in English, but the word vacui is an adjective in Latin. So Aedes Machina Vacua Means: "house (of the) empty machine". Close enough I guess, but if anybody knows Latin and has a better suggestion let me know.

Two of the drawings I have made on the last two pages was paraphrased from memory of some old comics. I looked through my comics collection and when I found the original images it was very close indeed (so close that I borrowed a little detail and changed my own drawing.)

Here they are:


The wonderful character, Laureline from the comic Valerian et Laureline by Pierre Christin and Jean-Claude Mézières. It seems that there never came many English translations of this marvellous series (which quite frankly shocks me) - but this is from the album that inspired Luc Besson's feature film Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets.


Really close i think. I was at least surprised how close I had come. I even changed Gwendolyn right arm to make it look like Laureline.


From the Italian cartoonist, Liberatore's ugly orgy in violence and sex: Ranxerox.


I didn't actually change anything after finding the Liberatore drawing, but I think they look a lot like each other.

Happy reading.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Nano: nano_1h5g99zrmuo8df659wwge5uhncnw6ay1n6t8g9tp3bdazcmex3onbndys8cu

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency