I searched for Colors and found White

Well, to be honest, there was also some of the color I have been searching for ... a little bit in the beginning and later a bit more :)

Autumn Colors : Winter White

Autumn Colors : Winter White

After finishing my night shift this morning, I drove home, changed my clothes, grabbed my photo backpack and headed for the mountains to hopefully see autumnal orange colored larches.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

Compared to the past days it was quite cold at 2C down in the valley and there was an ice cold wind in the mountains and it was snowing very lightly every now and then.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

UFO or cloud? Some cloud formations looked more interesting than the mountains. I don't see such massive clouds very often.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

As said in the beginning, there was some color - a few trees have already changed their color, mostly the ones that were growing higher up on the mountains.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

Just as I stopped the car to take a photo of some orange larches, the sun was peeking over the hill and lit them nicely up.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

In the beginning of my trip, there were almost no autumnal colored trees, but the further I drove into the mountains, the more orange spots appeared between the still green trees.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

Below you can see the same tree photographed today and on October 26, 2020. So, in about 2 weeks time the tree should be orange again. If you look close (click to open in fullsize), you will see that a few branches have already started to turn orange.

Green vs Autumnal ColorsOctober 10, 2021
Green vs Autumnal ColorsOctober 26, 2020

Just in case you want to know where I have been: I was driving on the Nockalm Road through the Nock Mountains (Wikipedia).

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

The Indian Summer

What is there sadd'ning in the Autumn leaves?
Have they that "green and yellow melancholy"
That the sweet poet spake of? Had he seen
Our variegated woods, when first the frost
Turns into beauty all October's charms -
When the dread fever quits us - when the storms
Of the wild Equinox, with all its wet,
Has left the land, as the first deluge left it,
With a bright bow of many colours hung
Upon the forest tops - he had not sigh'd.

The moon stays longest for the Hunter now:
The trees cast down their fruitage, and the blithe
And busy squirrel hoards his winter store:
While man enjoys the breeze that sweeps along
The bright blue sky above him, and that bends
Magnificently all the forest's pride,
Or whispers through the evergreens, and asks,
"What is there sadd'ning in the Autumn leaves?"

by John Brainard

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]

In about two weeks all green will have turned into a beautiful orange colored woodland. Hopefully the weather will be just as nice as it was today: quite cloudy with the sun peeking through from time to time.

Autumn 2021 - Nock Mountains, Carinthia, Austria
[click for fullsize]


Information

All photos in this post were taken with the Canon EOS R and the Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care and have a great week,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to have one of my photos in full resolution.

> Have a look at my NFT's on the Foundation Plattform
> My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2021-10-10
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.936800 lat 13.753397 long 20211010-Nock-Mountains d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
158 Comments
Ecency