Itsy-Bitsy Surprises in the Yard


It's the start of the rainy season in our region and things are getting quite interesting outside the house. The plants are becoming more lush and colors are also popping out. I took out the garbage in the afternoon when I noticed something interesting so I rushed inside and came out with a phone in my hand.

It's been a while since I last saw one and I didn't want to miss documenting it like I often do whenever we have yard guests. It was hanging onto the tiny branch of one of the roses that the husband had regrown sometime last year.

Yep, a Praying Mantis!


It was not easy to take photos of it. I was being careful not to touch it so it won't go anywhere else but I failed. It may have felt my presence it moved from one plant to another. I was just thankful it was not moving fast so I was able to follow it and took a few more shots.

I enjoyed the little chase and noticed another surprise peeking through. A tiny bud that is about to open up.

It is so small that my pinkie finger looks bigger.😅 Of course, I was happy to see it bringing out some coolness in our front yard albeit kind of prematurely.


Apart from that, there are other flowers which are blooming as well - like the Euphorbia plants (Crown of Thorns), one of the bromeliads and even the money tree that my sister has given to us when we moved here.

Then there were some tomatoes, the only edible stuff that we have grown earlier this year and they are still very young. They won't be producing fruits until after a few more months.


So yeah, our veggie needs for the kitchen table are from the market, unlike some years ago when most were freshly-picked from our yard gardens. The zucchini that I shared about before has somehow succumbed to whatever disease it had and died.

A few days ago, the husband and I were discussing about growing some red lettuce, beans, pepper and others in the backyard. The plots there are still empty and had grown weeds and grasses so it needs clearing. We knew we had been slacking in the previous year and it's about time we get back to the habit of growing some food.

I was quite excited and requested the hubby to spare some time soon and mow the grass plus redo the plots. Unfortunately, he won't be able to do so until after next week. Until then, I will have to wait.

Lastly, let me share these wild berries which some people call refer to as orange raspberries.


The hubby photographed them a few days ago while cleaning the farthest end of the yard, but he only showed them to me this evening. I could have picked and used them as toppings on the graham cake I made early in the day.😅

Anyway, this is my garden update which also coincides with the Day 2 topic on the MayInLeo initiative. Thank you and have a wonderful time!


All photos are my own (and the hubby's) captures. 02052024/20:10ph

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now