Hivewatchers: Important Ways To Avoid Plagiarism

Designed by Canva
Plagiarism is an act of fraud, and criminal offense committed when copying someone's work without a credit.

Few years ago when I started hive, I did not understand how it works.
One day, we were given a weekly prompt to write about. I was so engrossed with the article of one of the participants; I decided to use her style of writing, copied some of her work, and arranged my article like her's.
The next day, I saw a message from Hivewatcher that placed an embargo on my account. I was banned!
Hivewatcher sent me the link of where I copied the text in the comment section.
Plagiarism is the copying and pasting of others' work without giving them credit. This account was caught plagiarism many times. Banned! - @Hivewatchers

I appealed in the hivewatchers discord community for forgiveness. I write an article to the whole hive community for forgiveness. My sins were not forgiven.
I kept on receiving hivewatchers messages in the comment section any time I posted. After a while, I was not forgiven; that was how I stopped using the account.

Plagiarism is stealing one's work without giving him credit for copying his/her work.
source
You can avoid Plagiarism in the following ways:

Giving credit to someone's work or acknowledge the author
That is the reason you must give credit to a picture from someone you use in an article.
There are websites where you can get free pictures for your articles. For example I use pixabay in the majority of my articles.
There was a day I used an unauthorized picture in my article from pixabay. Though I wasn't aware that I should get the license before I could use the picture. I had to pay for the picture I used. Thanks to my friend who read my article and discovered that I needed a license. He said, “remove that picture before you are caught” and he explained the reason.
Without wasting much time, I removed the picture and put another free picture. Since then, I don't use pictures from istock.
When writing about certain things that someone had written before. if you want to use the sentences, you must cite the person's name. That is how to avoid Plagiarism.

Source your images
any pictures you use from those free websites, you need to attach the source; it is a method of giving credit to the owner. That is the reason I source all images from websites. It is a mistake from my end if I didn't source a free image I used in my articles. If the image I used is not owned by me, I give credit to the owner.

Original pictures from me are also given credit for ‘the pictures are mine’. So, people will know that I snap the pictures.

Paraphrase
You must paraphrase if it is others' work. For instance, “If you have knowledge, let others light their candles in it,” -Margaret Fuller
It is a sign that the primary author of the sentence above is Margaret Fuller. Therefore, you don't have to be afraid of plagiarism because you have cited the original owner.

Avoid Copy and Paste
My Mirror: Outliers if you read this article, you will discover that I talked about a book called 'Outliers- The Story Of Success'.
I didn't copy anything from the book, I read the book, I wrote my own note different from what was in the book. My own ideas about the book, and I used my English to write it down. I didn't copy anything from the author. It is not plagiarism.
At the end of my articles, I gave credit to the author. It is a must to give credit to the author.

Therefore, when one copy and paste others work, it is a complete plagiarism. You can't copy the work of someone directly, and paste it. It is a fraudulent act and stealing.
Don't write word-to-word; read, understand, take note, and write comprehension about it.
Intellectual property is the original creation of human’s work. Creating original content such as writing, art and drawing. It simply means the content is owned by you, not anyone else.
Intellectual property is protected by laws such as trademark, copyright and patent. These laws protect your work from being stolen by someone else.

I stand up for success, and success is not achieved by merely making mouth, No room for laziness, no room for idleness. Success comes to the people who are desperately and consciously searching for it. When it seems unsuccessful or you smell failure around you, never discourage yourself from being successful.
“Discouragement and failure are the two surest stepping stones to success.” - Dale
.

This is #aprilinleo Day 26

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency