This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

On the Importance of Team Sports in Child Development

Do you recall those moments of childhood rebellion against parental advice? And all the subsequent "never ever" swears that we avoid becoming like them? It's a universal experience. As time passes, we often start appreciating our parents' intentions, even if we don't entirely share their values. And yet, many of us end up parenting in similar ways to how we were raised. There is nothing new under the sun when it comes to children-parents dynamics. The more enlightened among us focus on the positive aspects of our childhood experiences, and I'd like to highlight one such thing that I believe is invaluable and worth passing on to my own children when I have some.

Children should engage in team sports, alongside pursuing other hobbies, of course. There's something unique that team sports offer—whether it's football, ice hockey, basketball, cricket, or any other sport—that can't be replicated elsewhere: the experience of being part of a team. It's a priceless set of skills, perhaps more nuanced than it may seem, especially for those without a background in sports. If you haven't seen it yet, take a moment to watch the Football Skills for Life & #InternationalWomensDay ad before reading further:


Team sports introduce in a children-friendly manner the mindset that equips individuals to navigate adult life's challenges. To avoid sounding like an AI (I hate such generic posts, by the way), let me share some key insights with a smidge of personal experiences:

  • A team transcends the sum of its parts, thanks to synergy. During my years playing handball, I had the opportunity to compete internationally at a junior level. I remember facing a physically dominant Russian team in a tournament of 15 years old. They looked like 18 years old at least, and everyone expected a decisive victory of the Russian side. However, we played as a team, they played as individuals, and we managed to eliminate them – it was the play-off stage already.

  • Trust and reliability are fundamental. In any sport, the players have different roles on the pitch. You get the one you fit the best for, and so does everybody else. You need to trust your teammates, and you need to be trusted. This is a huge thing to learn, and the earlier you get this into your bloodstream, the better. Also, you make friends with people who share the trust/reliability values.

  • Team sports boost social skills. As I am an introvert by nature, I found handling the social dynamics challenging. Yet thanks to my teammates, I managed. I even captained my team for two years, and I see this foundation as priceless nowadays; it helps me lead work teams and manage projects in my professional career.

  • Hard work yields results. While natural talent exists, success is primarily attributed to hard work, perseverance, and a bit of good luck. Team sports clearly show that diligent effort leads to improvement, emphasizing the cooperation of the teammates as stated above.

  • Respect and fair play are core values. With the exception of freaky parents who see their children as future superstars and lack respect, sports are generally a respectful environment. There’s fair play amateur sportsmen and children or teenagers naturally adhere to, and there’s always a referee to keep things on track. When you get older, you reach a stage where not playing fair could cause a serious injury. And you learn your limits – the injuries are accidents, not intentions. You’re tough, but still respect your opponents.

I'm grateful that my sporty parents led me to develop my personality through team sports. While pursuing a professional career in sports was not my ambition, I consider the skills and personal growth attained priceless. It's an experience I intend to offer my own children in the future.






This is my entry to April Inleo writing prompt for April 16.