Beehibee Sculpture [ENG/SPA]



English



As I told you on another occasion, one of the best things about being me is that I can make unique gifts for people I appreciate.

Last Saturday (08/10/22), I had the opportunity to attend another meeting between Hivers at a university in Barquisimeto, Venezuela. I wanted to give a special gift to some of the organizers of these events and I came up with a great idea for one of these gifts.

It is the great Beehibee, known by many. I would like to share with you the creative process of this beautiful figurine, I hope you like it.

1.jpg

For those of you who don't know who Beehibee is, she is an adorable member of our hive who is dedicated to interviewing cool hivers. So I wanted to make a little figurine of this colorful character.....

What materials did I use to make this cool little bee? Since I was planning to make a sculpture, I used plasticine. I wanted it to stand the test of time, so I also used a couple of stands, wire and wooden sticks.

2.jpg

For the base of the figurine I used a black plasticine sphere and on it I placed the wire support, which would serve as the main column for the whole body of the figure:

3.jpg4.jpg

The shape of the body is quite simple. To make the body I used yellow plasticine, made a cone, flattened it a little and then pinched it at the ends, where the little arms of the character should be.

For the little hands, I used black plasticine and molded it into the desired shape. Below you can see a couple of pictures of these processes:

5.jpg

Once these pieces were finished, it was time to put them together. I drilled a small hole all the way through the body of the little bee and then placed it on the wire support I had made, the one on the black base.

On the other hand, I made a yellow sphere for the head.

6.jpg

Beehibee's head has a slightly elongated shape and very distinctive features, so I did my best to be faithful to her design. I made her mouth black, nose and eyes as adorable as possible, then used a wooden stick to attach her to the body.

In addition, I placed a little black and yellow necklace that I caught a glimpse of in one of the photos I used as a reference.

7.jpg

I also noticed that it had a certain style cap, let's say it's not tight but big, so I tried to make it with that same style. I also put the hive logo on the top of the cap.

8.jpg

As it is a little bee, I made the characteristic black stripes that Beehibee has. The idea was not to make them look like overlapping stripes, but as part of the same fabric.

To achieve this, I placed the plasticine stripes on top of the yellow plasticine and flattened it, trying to keep the shape. But, as it is fabric, or at least that is what I am trying to simulate, I made the typical undulations of a garment of these characteristics.

9.jpg

And with all the characteristic details of the little bee, I finished this great and charming gift that I planned to deliver the next day.

Below you can see a series of pictures of the final result:

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

The figurines I make usually end up on my shelf, not all of them have a final recipient, so it's great that they end up in the hands of people who will really value them as much as I do. In fact, it was very emotional, at least for me, the moment I handed the figurine.

Maybe the now owner of the figurine will tell you later about what she thought of the figurine, but just as a preview, here is a picture of the person I gave this cool gift to. @zullyscott will only serve as messenger to give this figurine to its final owner, the great @beehibee. 😉

15.jpg

Well friends, that's all for now. Truly, giving this figurine was one of the best experiences I've ever had because I could see the joy and excitement of the person I gave it to and that's not something you see every day.

What did you think? I would love to know your opinions. You can leave it below in the comments and as always I will be happy to read them. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!





Español



Como les comenté en otra ocasión, una de las mejores cosas de ser yo es que puedo hacer regalos únicos para personas a las que aprecio.

El sábado que pasó (08/10/22), tuve la oportunidad de asistir a otro encuentro entre Hivers en una universidad de Barquisimeto, Venezuela. Quería hacerle un regalo especial a algunos de los organizadores de estos eventos y se me ocurrió una idea genial para uno de estos regalos.

Se trata de la grandiosa Beehibee, conocida por muchos. Me gustaría compartir con ustedes el proceso creativo de esta hermosa figurita, espero les guste.

1es.jpg

Para quienes no conocen quien es Beehibee, es una adorable miembro de nuestra colmena que se dedica a entrevistar a hivers geniales. Así que quise hacer una figurita de este pintoresco personaje...

¿Qué materiales utilicé para hacer a esta genial abejita? Al ser una escultura lo que planeaba hacer, utilicé plastilina. Quería que resistiera el paso del tiempo, así que también utilicé un par de soportes, alambre y palillos de madera.

2.jpg

Para la base de la figurita usé una esfera de plastilina negra y sobre esta coloqué el soporte de alambre, que serviría de columna principal para todo el cuerpo de la figura:

3.jpg4.jpg

La forma del cuerpo es bastante sencillo. Para hacer el cuerpo usé una plastilina de color amarillo, hice un cono, lo aplasté un poco y luego le pellizqué en los extremos, donde deberían estar los bracitos del personaje.

Para las manitos, usé plastilina negra y la moldeé hasta lograr la forma deseada. A continuación pueden ver un par de fotos de estos procesos:

5.jpg

Una vez terminadas estas piezas, llegó el momento de unirlas. Hice un agujerito que atravesara por completo el cuerpo de la abejita y entonces la coloqué en el soporte de alambre que había hecho, el que estaba en la base de color negro.

Por otra parte, hice una esfera de color amarillo para la cabeza.

6.jpg

La cabeza de Beehibee tiene una forma un poco alargada y con rasgos muy característicos, así que hice lo posible por ser fiel a su diseño. Le hice la boca de color negro, la nariz y los ojos de la manera más adorable posible, luego usé un palillo de madera para fijarla en el cuerpo.

De manera adicional, coloqué un collarcito negro y amarillo que alcancé a ver en una de las fotos que usé de referencia.

7.jpg

También noté que tenía una gorra de cierto estilo, digamos que no es apretada sino grande, así que traté de hacerla con ese mismo estilo. De igual manera le coloqué el logo de hive, en la parte superior de la gorra.

8.jpg

Como es una abejita, le hice las franjas negras características que tiene Beehibee. La idea era que no parecieran franjas superpuestas, sino como parte de la misma tela.

Para lograr esto coloqué las franjas de plastilina encima de la plastilina amarilla y la aplasté, tratando de mantener la forma. Pero, como es tela, o al menos es lo que intento simular, hice las ondulaciones típicas de una prenda de estas características.

9.jpg

Y con todos los detalles característicos de la abejita, di por terminado este grandioso y encantador regalo que planeaba entregar al día siguiente.

A continuación pueden ver una serie de fotografías del resultado final:

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

Las figuritas que hago normalmente terminan encima de mi estante, no todas tienen un destinatario final, así que es genial que estas terminen en manos de personas que realmente las van a valorar tanto como yo. De hecho, fue muy emotivo, al menos para mi, el momento en que le entregué la figura...

Quizás la ahora dueña de la figurita les hable más adelante sobre qué le ha parecido la figurita, pero solo a manera de adelanto, aquí pueden ver una fotografía de la persona a la que le entregué este regalo tan genial. @zullyscott solo servirá de mensajera para darle esta figurita a su dueña final, a la gran @beehibee. 😉

15.jpg

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. De verdad que entregar esta figurita fue una de las mejores experiencias que he tenido porque pude ver la alegría y emoción de la persona a la que se la entregué y eso no es algo que se ve todos los días.

¿Qué les ha parecido? Me gustaría saber sus opiniones. La pueden dejar abajo en los comentarios y como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




7.jpg

Traducido con DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Art in a sports complex
Jiminy Cricket Sculpture
Audio relato: El Faro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency