Navigating the Cost of Living in Nigeria, Insights and Reflections

The cost of living in Nigeria has increased dramatically in past few years, if your living in Nigeria you need God to survive because fresh air alone is not enough as the cost of living is shocking the citizens, this cake as a result of the last presidential election, the country has moved to the point that one can say it's survival of the fittest. Just yesterday, I was boarding a vehicle just before entering the driver was making announcement that the transportation fee is doubled, so if your not with such amount you should peacefully come down before the vehicle moves, i was not that surprised because few weeks ago there was a serious case of fuel scarcity in the country that it was very hard for someone to buy fuel and even when you see it was on the high Cost. While we were moving people were complaining bitterly about the economy and how they find it so hard to cope, especially those who pay their way to work and school daily. I felt so bad for them, because I know there are some people who have more than five children and with the present inflation life can be difficult for them to live

Yellow and Blue Digital Marketing Agency Instagram Post_20240510_153649_0000.pngimage made on canva

The cost of living in Nigeria became worser than what we used to manage before, just when our president resumes his office as the newly elected president and just in a few minutes of resumption he made a declaration of removal of fuel subsidies just the following day. The cost of fuel became almost five times what it used to be, at this time it was not even been officially documented yet, it was just a declaration and just minutes the news spread and the price of fuel went up which affected everything in our economy. The effects went on from house rent to food items and utilities. It's been living in a cell over here and most times, I feel like if I can rewind time to our economy from 4 years ago, when things were still fair though I was still young but I was able to know that life was better then compare to this, by then people could at least survive a bit with their salary and cater for their families. Nowadays, the cost of living is nothing to write home about; salaries are yet to increase though the government promised the civil servants increment in salaries but not yet working, just story, but every single thing you can think of or imagine you can buy with money has skyrocketed, today I went to the supermarket to get toothpaste, hmm I was surprise and I was like God gave me teeth for free without money now to maintain it is this costly lol 🤣🤣🤣 what we do buy for #800 is now #1400 affecting both the rich and the poor. Our currency hasn't been left out as it started depreciating in value so badly, and our government tries to blame it on the crypto platforms which led to delisting of naira from binance but yet still nothing is working. The naira is not stable as it keeps fluctuating against the dollar. And The prices of goods and services are still the same, and it's a big concern.

Last week two of my friends relocated to the US with the reason that life is better over there, well I can't really compare the cost of living here in my country with US because I haven't lived there before
However, with what my friends are telling me and why I have also heard from people I have been convinced no matter how bad life is over here the cost of living here is still relatively low compared to many other countries. Here in Nigeria, we don't pay taxes like other countries do, yes oo I can say that again and again. Like virtually all their activities, food, their monthly rent, and other bills are just so high, and that is why we over here roam around because we don't really have much to pay, though there isn't enough employment opportunities like the other countries that have a good and functional government that is well structured and organized to make life easier. Over there people keep boasting of 24/7 electricity and many more goodies, which is why they pay those high taxes, but I will also admit that they earn better over there to cope with that kind of high cost of living because without that people wouldn't have been able to cope.

However, if I have the opportunity to relocate, I will gladly do so only if I secure a good and tangible job offers ahead; otherwise, I will manage the Nigerian economy this way, hoping its get better someday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency