Poolsbrook Country Park: Sharks v Jets

I had a walk around Poolsbrook Country Park in Derbyshire this morning. It took me awhile to get into the car park as the geese wouldn’t budge off the road. Later on, I saw someone trying to get out of the car park. I think the geese took their job as 'on site security' a bit too seriously.

This goose was showing off standing on one leg, doing its aerobics. It's more than I can do!

There seemed to be a bit of a stand off between the greylag geese and the white geese. They didn't like each other. It was reminiscent of the Sharks v Jets in the West Side Story! Single file please ....

There was a lot of doves and pigeons on the grass. The birds are quite used to people visiting the park.

If visitors get a bit too close, the birds will fly off but then quickly return to base.

This swan was having a good old preen for some time, until it spotted me with its beady eye.

On the way round the lake I spotted a heron. Normally, they fly off as soon as they spot you, but this one stuck around for a bit. Unfortunately, I hadn't got my long lens with me as it was a last minute decision to visit the park.

The temperature is dropping and we might be getting a bit of snow soon. As it is a well visited park, the birds will definitely be well fed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency