S E A R C H

Ever wanted to find a previous article? ...Wanted to know what others wrote about some topic? ...Find all posts about your favourite artist?


image: published on Pexels by Tobias Aeppli (source)

Since some time we have this great tool to discover content on the Steem blockchain, regardless how old the articles or comments are. Altavista revived. The Google of Steem.

eSteem Search

https://search.esteem.app/


From the makers of the eSteem App (phone and desktop), eSteem Search is a powerful search engine to discover any content captured by the Steem blockchain.

Throughout the years we've seen search engines come and go, but I think eSteem is here to stay. I use it regularly, until now mostly for curation purposes to check if some content is not posted before (ie plagiarism checks). All the time with great results!

The tool is very simple to use, just as you use Google, Yahoo, Bing or any other search engine out there. Just type in whatever (key)word you want to search for and hit the search button. Within a split second you'll get the search responses presented to you.

I prefer to add relevant commands to the search to make eSteem Search super powerful. For instant when I want to search for an old post that I've published here in our community, I tell the search engine to only look into my own posts. I'll only have to add the following command to my search:

author:edje

Searching for my first post I ever published at Steemit, I remember I just started a vacation which would last 2 months and just arrived in Thailand. Obviously I search for first and thailand...

Without using the author command, the engine tells me it found 20.926 results; A tremendous amount of posts. By adding the author command, the number of posts reduced to a measly 3 with my first ever post into our community listed as the second one! BTW, quite a bad article, but please remember, this was my first! :)

Obviously you can also use some other Steem username to search for posts of whoever you like. Try it!


image: published on Steemit by the eSteem team (source)

eSteem Search supports a small set of powerful commands, including:

search with phrases

Search command example: "esteem search" filters gives all the posts talking about the commands with the exact phrase esteem search and filters. Amongst the few results (2 only) an article by the eSteem team informing us about the app including the explanations of commands as we are using here.

exclude keywords and phrases

Search command example: "esteem search" -filters provides us all the articles with esteem search phrases without those articles that has the word filters in it. Two article less in the result count using the -filters command, hence this must have excluded the two we found with the previous search example.

search articles by a specific user

Search command example: "david lynch" author:edje returns all the articles I published using the keywords david lynch. When you try this search, it shows you the search engine also provides results when the search words are found in the comment section.

search article by ...

I can provide you the rest of the commands, but I'll let you do some (short) reading of the original post by the eSteem team, since that one explains all what can be done with the eSteem Search engine in very short and clear terminology. Just browse to...

eSteem Search Tips

https://steemit.com/esteem/@esteemapp/esteem-search-tips-c42f5a640930best


image: published in Steemit by the eSteem team (source)

Try it & See for yourself the Power!

You'll never lost an article or conversation anymore. You can easily find other articles you may like to reference when writing your next contribution. You'll be pleasantly surprised about the quality of the search results.

HAVE FUN

qsounds music library with more than 300 entries | A...K | L...Z |
steem blockchain curator for @illuminati-inc and @qsounds

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency