Mirror Mirror - Tell Me How Many Times I Look at You Today

Hi #ladyofhives community, I recently joined Hive and got a recommendation from my friend @trangbaby to join this awesome group & participate in the challenge for this week.

Orange and White Funny Dating Animated Video Presentation.gif

To be honest, I don’t know how many times I look at the mirror per day. I never pay attention to it. Based on the community suggestion, I kept track of it yesterday. The total is 11. Actively looking at myself on the mirror is around 3. I have my morning routine, after shower & then before going to bed when I apply skin care. The rest is just when I use the toilet & the mirror is just there so I stop and count the number for this contest.

And at the last count, I realise I did something different from the other time. I spend a little bit longer looking at myself and smiling at me. Then I realised, this contest is helping me to communicate with myself. I spend a lot of time looking at other people, smiling and being nice to them. But for this girl, I don’t do it that often.

I also learned another thing from this contest. There is another mirror to look at. A mirror in my mind and it's the one help me to see things clearer.

Recently, I joined a class to learn to understand myself and practice a good habit of checking up on my feelings every now and then. My teacher said that whenever I had a not-so-good feeling, I should ask what is going on and try to find the answer. I should ask the same question until I find the last reason for the feeling I have. Then it’s the time to step back and reflect on the situation, looking at it on a different way. I haven’t understood how to do it properly.

Until yesterday morning, I suddenly felt annoyed with a conversation I had with a friend the other night. I thought it was not a big deal, so I didn’t practise that technique from the class. When I woke up the next morning and I remember it, I realised I was wrong. So I started to think about it.

I asked myself what is it to make me feel this way. After a couple of minutes, I understood something that cleared up my mind. First: I don’t agree with her views on certain things. Ok, so why is that? Because I wanted her to agree with what I believe and I think my perspective will help her. So, does it have to be that way? Yes, because if she doesn’t listen to me, she will experience a bad situation again.

At that moment, I understood that I’m trying to judge what is good or bad for her. I am not putting myself in her shoes here. It might be a good or a bad thing; she can learn from it and understand her lesson better. Then, just reflecting all like this, I started feeling my mind at ease and leave the annoyed feeling behind. Hooray, I practiced the technique I learned with my own mirror and it works.

Thank you again #ladyofhive community for this week contest. I have learnt beautiful lessons and also have an opportunity to practice it.

Finally, a big thank to my dear friend @trangbaby for letting me know about this community so we can grow and thrive together. It will be great if you can join me in this challenge. Let’s make sometimes for our girls, shall we?

Copy of Copy of Meditation From Home Facebook Post.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency