THE ADVICE THAT CREATED A SHIFT IN MY ENTREPRENEURIAL MINDSET

We come across different people in our lives and due to one thing or the other, we interact. This interaction might go as far as sharing our stories, views, thoughts, experiences, lessons, and so much more. The most beautiful thing about this is that it can happen with anybody, even someone you haven’t talked to before—strangers. Conversations can start randomly with any random person at any point in time, it is not anything pre-planned or even expected.

BD675D66-A6F1-48C0-8042-E2EF9953F7AC.png

I have received advice from different people in my life and have definitely given a lot out as well. We humans can never be all-knowing, and these advices that we get from people shapes us, build us, and also if not careful, can ruin us. It’s important to be able to decipher a good advice from a bad one. You can agree with me that one can be given a bad advice, right? It might not even be like the person has an ulterior motive, it might just be that their level of reasoning doesn’t resonate with you—and that’s okay.


AN ADVICE THAT CHANGED MY MENTALITY ABOUT ENTREPRENEURSHIP


So, I went for this entrepreneurship program and it was a really beautiful one. I learned a lot of things that actually made a lot of impact in my business life. I learned how to make a business plan, business pitch, deliver an elevator speech, etc. It was a really loaded one. However, there was this special mentoring session at the end of the entire program where there were mentors for different sections of entrepreneurship. All we had to was go to a mentor that can answer our business questions.

130A02E0-92FD-455E-B742-724E805EBD70.jpeg1C29159E-D934-4B00-BDC8-B9402EE35FCF.jpeg

Pictures from the program

I went to one of the mentors to ask him some questions and also let him know my worries about my business so he can share his knowledge with me. I sought for his advice and honestly, I got the best advice any entrepreneur could have asked for.

8827D8FE-8388-4222-A76B-02D5D88F8499.jpeg

source

I told him how competitive the kind of business I do is, and asked him how I could stand out. There are so many of us(vendors) competing for the same set of customers and it takes a unique brand to stand out among all others. I always love to do my things differently, I have never loved following the crowd blindly. Maybe the advice he gave me has always been a part of me, but I just never realized. Immediately he uttered it, it was as if I had just been given a goal and everything I do has to be towards achieving it.

He told me this;

To stand out and be different from the crowd in this business that you do, you have to be on top of the chain.

This helped me to think bigger than I have ever done and everything I do after that day aims at that goal of being at the top of the chain. I don’t always want to be a retailer, I want to be an wholesaler that people come and buy from like I have been doing. Anytime I go to the market to restock, I always view myself owning one of those stores, sending goods everywhere in the country and being a proper boss.


AM I STILL IN TOUCH WITH THE PERSON?


No, I am not.

Although, I have his contact and can reach out anytime, I believe that he had already given me something substantial to hold onto and the rest is up to me. I really look forward to the day I will achieve my goal and own one of the biggest stores in Nigeria. I will definitely remember him and thank him, even if he might not remember.

Thanks for reading❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency